We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Food”
Review of Justine's 1937

Justine's 1937
Ranked #242 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great French Food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Justine's is a gem in east Austin. The prices are good and the food quality is excellent. We always get there when it opens at 6 pm. There is already a line to get in. We actually plan our trips to Austin to make sure we are there on a day Justine's is open (Wed - Sun). It is very popular with the locals and has a real cool vibe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 309Nancy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    35
    12
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Romantic and Great Vibes”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love, love this place. The food is always great and the atmosphere is romantic. The prices are very fair. Only reason I give 4 stars is because there is always a very long wait and they dont accept reservations unless it is a group of 6 or more. On really nice nights, its perfect to go, because the courtyard is adorable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem just outside the downtown scene.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I was in town for SXSW and wanted a decent place away from the crowd. This was truly a hidden gem. Great vibe with a little party atmosphere. I ate at the bar and the waitress was friendly, personable,and cute. The Pork chop was incredible and I'm a pork chop snob. I gave it 5s because I couldn't find any faults but probably a 4.5 since a 5 should be for truly incredible experiences. You won't be dissapponted.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMWierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MY FAVORTIE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'll make this simple - Ive been here about 100 times and could go back 100 more. I have enjoyed everything ive tried on the menu and continue to bring anyone who visits from out of town here for dinner. The late kitchen hours and vintage record collection make this a great restaurant to grab a drink and linger. No complaints whatsoever. Tip: try the salmon cru as an app and the bolognaise as an entree is to die for!

YUM!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swhela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mangez ici!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

OK, so austin has several french restaurants, but none quite like this one. situated in a section of old east austin, this little gem is the only neon sign on the block, everything else is warehouses. as i type this i'm wondering if it's a bad idea to tell folks about justine's...it is what a truly hip and happening austin restaurant is expected to be. the menu is simple, there's something for everyone's price range and it serves the best steak tartare in town. it serves food until 1 am and has become the go-to place for musicians and other artists who come to town for a good meal and mellow vibe.

there's not much point in reviewing the menu, because as a regular -- as in i eat there at least once a week on average when i'm flush -- i go for the duck confit (damn near perfect on each of the four times i've had it), the fish special (always done to showcase our finned friend with simple, yet complex flavors as part of the supporting cast); or the spaghetti bolognaise, a honking great bowl of pasta and meat sauce for $12. for me, a salad, the spaghetti and a glass of the house red balances out to less than the time and energy it would take me to go to the grocery store, bring home the goods, chop and saute, reduce the sauce, boil water for...well, you know the drill. so why bother if i can buy at justine's something as good as i'd make?!

another one of the wonderful things about this place is the fact that the french owner, a former musician, plays good music. loud, but good. he doesn't plan to open another, smarter, eatery elsewhere. he's rooted in the current spot. the service is impressive, the wine list is good, and the music comes courtesy of 12-inch LPs and a turntable that might yield tina turner, billie holiday, coltrane or miles. this place is definitely doing its part to keeping austin's weird vibe alive, but in a good way.

for the best experience, go sunday through thursday. leave saturday to the in-town sightseers who want be part of austin's hip scene on weekends only.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newsmom70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justine's 1937 also viewed

 

Been to Justine's 1937? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing