We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible-avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had hot water issues (no hot water) for four out of the five days I stayed here. I was suppose to stay seven nights but left as soon as I could and rebooked at another hotel. There were multiple other issues (faucet leaked, bathroom vent didn't work, etc.) and the whole property is just generally very run down. A colleague of mine was staying in another room at the same time and his door handle broke off and he cut his leg on the underside of a desk that was broken. The *only* positive is that the staff is friendly and tries to be helpful...and I feel sorry for them, because they get the brunt of the angry guests' complaints when clearly the management at this property is severely lacking. Seriously, this property is a nightmare. You'd be better off camping in the parking lot.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank ANS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I want to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. I am very happy to inform you that we are about to start a renovation of our property and this should fix all of the issues on our older property. Thanks again for the comments. It always helps us solve these issues so future guests do not have the same problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Slow check in process. Room was not ready when they said it would be. The bathroom was dirty. After leaving for the day and returning we discovered there were bugs crawling all over our bags and computers. Also smells bad. Do not stay here. Sleep in your vehicle if you have to.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteVanBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. You stayed during a very busy time in Austin and I do apologize that the check in process was slow for you. Please accept my apology that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping efforts. I really appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue with our Housekeeping Manager. She will be addressing these matters with her staff and is committed to ensuring that these problems do not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The girl who checked us in was very polite and got us checked in very quickly. The room was what you would expect from the cheapest motel in town. There were bugs in the bathroom and on the walls in the bedroom. I don't mind critters when I'm camping, but when I pay to sleep in a motel, I do NOT want to see insects, especially in the bathroom.

Also, the fitness room is the most depressing one I have ever seen. Do not count that among this hotel's amenities.

If you ABSOLUTELY have to cut your costs and want to save a dollar anywhere possible, AND you can tolerate sharing your room with bugs, you might be satisfied with this hotel. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Davy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a very inexpensive room and the bed was comfortable. Those were the most enjoyable attributes of this hotel. The bathroom rug had hair on it. The water in the bathroom was barely luke warm. There was plenty of lighting which helped as the upkeep of the motel exterior gave the impression that this might not be the safest place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 1 night at the Quality inn in Austin during a weekend trip with friends. There's nothing much about this place, the rooms are quite small, the beds were clean though. We have specifically requested a non-smoking room however we were given a non-smoking room among a corridor of smoking rooms. The room smelled like someone was already smoking in it while we were there. We went back and asked to change it and we got another one that smelled almost as bad with stale air odor. I guess the quality is fine for thevprice you pay, $50 for a room with 2 queen beds

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmooraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights on 1/22 and 1/23 the bed was very comfortable, it was quiet and the room was very clean. The property is older, but the value is good. There is a microwave and fridge in the rooms, flat screen tv. I didn't get to eat the complimentary breakfast. I felt safe at the hotle. It is right off I35 N and 183 a lot of places to eat and have a drink close by.

Room Tip: I had a room on inside facing the pool downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First, from what I've seen the nightly posted rate for this motel (a true motel - all units go outside) is about $48/night. But, if you use the Priceline "express" tab the hotel is regularly posted for $32/night. Just look for the 1 star in Austin with all the amenities. Throw in 15% tax and you're still looking at just under $40 out of pocket per night. I booked a king size room, but the first unit I had the door wouldn't open so they put me in a double claiming there were no more king sizes, but that seemed iffy given there were a number of open rooms.

The motel has seen better days. Decor is a bit outdated. On the weekends lots of people in their early 20's, The bathroom was a bit beat up, and not as clean as ideally you'd like. The fridge had some broken shelves and the place in general has a slight air of neglect. Microwave works fine.

But, no bugs (that I've seen) and while the motel isn't the Ritz it is hard to beat the price -- especially when breakfast is included. One word of warning about breakfast -- I've stayed at other Quality Inns and the breakfast here is sup-par. No eggs, no breakfast meat -- a waffle maker with a line, cereal and cold bagels/danish - toaster provided, but no microwave to warm anything. Juice was very watery and poorly mixed. They do have a large room where people can sit and why they don't move the beverages there so they can serve a better breakfast escapes me.

In short, if you're looking for cheap place to stay this could be it, but don't expect much for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 202 in Austin
8 reviews
1 mi away
Clarion Inn Austin North
Clarion Inn Austin North
#164 of 202 in Austin
191 reviews
2 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 202 in Austin
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#137 of 202 in Austin
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $49 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing