We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 1 night at the Quality inn in Austin during a weekend trip with friends. There's nothing much about this place, the rooms are quite small, the beds were clean though. We have specifically requested a non-smoking room however we were given a non-smoking room among a corridor of smoking rooms. The room smelled like someone was already smoking in it while we were there. We went back and asked to change it and we got another one that smelled almost as bad with stale air odor. I guess the quality is fine for thevprice you pay, $50 for a room with 2 queen beds

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmooraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 324 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights on 1/22 and 1/23 the bed was very comfortable, it was quiet and the room was very clean. The property is older, but the value is good. There is a microwave and fridge in the rooms, flat screen tv. I didn't get to eat the complimentary breakfast. I felt safe at the hotle. It is right off I35 N and 183 a lot of places to eat and have a drink close by.

Room Tip: I had a room on inside facing the pool downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First, from what I've seen the nightly posted rate for this motel (a true motel - all units go outside) is about $48/night. But, if you use the Priceline "express" tab the hotel is regularly posted for $32/night. Just look for the 1 star in Austin with all the amenities. Throw in 15% tax and you're still looking at just under $40 out of pocket per night. I booked a king size room, but the first unit I had the door wouldn't open so they put me in a double claiming there were no more king sizes, but that seemed iffy given there were a number of open rooms.

The motel has seen better days. Decor is a bit outdated. On the weekends lots of people in their early 20's, The bathroom was a bit beat up, and not as clean as ideally you'd like. The fridge had some broken shelves and the place in general has a slight air of neglect. Microwave works fine.

But, no bugs (that I've seen) and while the motel isn't the Ritz it is hard to beat the price -- especially when breakfast is included. One word of warning about breakfast -- I've stayed at other Quality Inns and the breakfast here is sup-par. No eggs, no breakfast meat -- a waffle maker with a line, cereal and cold bagels/danish - toaster provided, but no microwave to warm anything. Juice was very watery and poorly mixed. They do have a large room where people can sit and why they don't move the beverages there so they can serve a better breakfast escapes me.

In short, if you're looking for cheap place to stay this could be it, but don't expect much for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites. You have to park near the office and hope your car doesnt get broken into. My car was gone thru twice and vandalized once there. That is just my car. other people too, I caught one black dud going thru my car... he wasnt scared and i got lucky because i walked pass his big lookout. iam lucky i didnt get jumped. they drove off. Also i have seen them cut thru the fences into the trees thru different parts of the complex . Bed bugs they got them and you dont want to take them with you when you go home. I ended up buying plastic pillow covers and bed bug proof covers for the mattress and box springs that encloses the bedding where the bed bugs cant get out. You could see on the trim of the mattress where the bed bugs were living by the blackness.. probably poop. On hot water we had to do without for quite awhile over two weeks. water line issues.. Probably depending on occupancy.. it usually takes awhile to get hot water or sometimes no hot water certain time of the day. i think when laundry is getting done, Hotel near high crime rate area St Johns and cameron road. Somehow they tie in with Bikini Restuarant which is in front of hotel on the same lot and they advertise Bikinis in their rooms. I know in the news just yesterday or day before they busted a girl there for prostitution in a police sting.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the office as possible,, it is safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

North of the city. About 10 minutes drive to the city center (6th street). Good hotel. Everything you need is in the room. Fridge, microwave, towels. Room was proper. Inclusive breakfast with bagels, eggs, waffels, yoghurt, muffins etc.
What the title says: All you need.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you pay $40 for a room you should not expect much.

This property is well located just off I35 &183. Easy to get anywhere in the Austin area from here.

In room refrigerator ticked. Pulling the plug solved the problem. Shower sounded like an air raid siren - should you be old enough to recall those. Bring earplugs & take quick showers.

Room could use a good cleaning from foot above carpet down. Dirt caked on outlets - don't think they have been cleaned for years.

Staff is clueless. I asked directions to 3 different Austin landmarks and received the Polish salute on each.

I would stay there again but NOT if my spouse was with me. More of a guy place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasleaguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was once very large with night grounds, but that was a few decades ago. The rooms show their age; bathtub cracked, light fixtures that fail, worn out furniture. Breakfast room was just plain filthy.

Room Tip: There may not be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron_TX_Ft_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 201 in Austin
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 201 in Austin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#138 of 201 in Austin
165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University / Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $54 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing