We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap - good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #150 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When you pay $40 for a room you should not expect much.

This property is well located just off I35 &183. Easy to get anywhere in the Austin area from here.

In room refrigerator ticked. Pulling the plug solved the problem. Shower sounded like an air raid siren - should you be old enough to recall those. Bring earplugs & take quick showers.

Room could use a good cleaning from foot above carpet down. Dirt caked on outlets - don't think they have been cleaned for years.

Staff is clueless. I asked directions to 3 different Austin landmarks and received the Polish salute on each.

I would stay there again but NOT if my spouse was with me. More of a guy place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texasleaguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge North Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 323 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was once very large with night grounds, but that was a few decades ago. The rooms show their age; bathtub cracked, light fixtures that fail, worn out furniture. Breakfast room was just plain filthy.

Room Tip: There may not be a good room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron_TX_Ft_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! No hot water, bugs, filthy rooms, terrible breakfast! DON'T STAY HERE! Couldn't sleep at all. Even got injured on site. Just wanted to get out! The staff even knows how bad this hotel is. Just recently became a Quality Inn. SHAME ON YOU QUALITY INN!!!! Breakfast - no hot water, bad coffee, toaster didn't work. Yuck! Location - not a good area!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Healthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a 1st floor room close to the registration. Heard people all night long. I would stay again because of the price but if you have young ones with you who will be really irratable without enough sleep or if you have to be fresh as a daisy the next day, I say pay a bit more. Shower head hand spray holder was also broken so you had to spray yourself & couldn't leave it up on the wall & just stand under it. Night manager was helping on the desk & he was great. Helpful with recommendations on where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while in town for a job interview. Stayed for one night and then got the heck out. There were mice, roaches and other critters running around outside the rooms. The room itself was FILTHY. Went to the doctor about 4 weeks after coming home with EXTREME itching and found out I contracted scabies from staying at this hotel. You get scabies from sleeping on unwashed sheets and using unwashed towels after someone who already had scabies used them. Called and informed the hotel at the beginning of September, but nothing was done. Let's just hope they at least changed the sheets! Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You really do get what you pay for....our overnight was free using points, but I'd have been happier paying for a better experience. Good points: lots of nice pillows, and a big balance ball in the fitness room. Bad points: room badly needed renovation. Roaches. Ice machine didn't work. No Sunday breakfast until 7 am. Thin towels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After getting this room on hotwire I was skeptical because of the reviews . I stayed for three nights with another guest and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was decent and was not noisy for us. The location is good and UT is not to far away. There is a burger king just down the road, and you can backtrack down a street to get back to your place. There is also a sports bar right in front of the Inn. Internet worked ok and was able to swim in the pool. Some minor negatives: had to adjust the air condition a few times in the night, either too cold or too hot, tough to get it just right. Small fridge that was not very cold so you had to put beverages in the freezer to get to temp. Ice machine was out on top floor, used bottom floor one which you needed to insert your room key. When ice came out it came out a few pieces at a time so that was a bit of a pain but overall the we felt we did ok, saved some money and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haveagoodtime27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Budget Inn Capitol
#139 of 201 in Austin
7 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#155 of 201 in Austin
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#144 of 201 in Austin
58 reviews
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#135 of 201 in Austin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $54 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing