We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“FILTHY DISGUSTING!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge North Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #146 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FILTHY DISGUSTING!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! No hot water, bugs, filthy rooms, terrible breakfast! DON'T STAY HERE! Couldn't sleep at all. Even got injured on site. Just wanted to get out! The staff even knows how bad this hotel is. Just recently became a Quality Inn. SHAME ON YOU QUALITY INN!!!! Breakfast - no hot water, bad coffee, toaster didn't work. Yuck! Location - not a good area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Healthy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    53
    55
    42
    84
See reviews for
58
68
51
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a 1st floor room close to the registration. Heard people all night long. I would stay again because of the price but if you have young ones with you who will be really irratable without enough sleep or if you have to be fresh as a daisy the next day, I say pay a bit more. Shower head hand spray holder was also broken so you had to spray yourself & couldn't leave it up on the wall & just stand under it. Night manager was helping on the desk & he was great. Helpful with recommendations on where to eat, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at this hotel while in town for a job interview. Stayed for one night and then got the heck out. There were mice, roaches and other critters running around outside the rooms. The room itself was FILTHY. Went to the doctor about 4 weeks after coming home with EXTREME itching and found out I contracted scabies from staying at this hotel. You get scabies from sleeping on unwashed sheets and using unwashed towels after someone who already had scabies used them. Called and informed the hotel at the beginning of September, but nothing was done. Let's just hope they at least changed the sheets! Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Louisville
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

You really do get what you pay for....our overnight was free using points, but I'd have been happier paying for a better experience. Good points: lots of nice pillows, and a big balance ball in the fitness room. Bad points: room badly needed renovation. Roaches. Ice machine didn't work. No Sunday breakfast until 7 am. Thin towels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After getting this room on hotwire I was skeptical because of the reviews . I stayed for three nights with another guest and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was decent and was not noisy for us. The location is good and UT is not to far away. There is a burger king just down the road, and you can backtrack down a street to get back to your place. There is also a sports bar right in front of the Inn. Internet worked ok and was able to swim in the pool. Some minor negatives: had to adjust the air condition a few times in the night, either too cold or too hot, tough to get it just right. Small fridge that was not very cold so you had to put beverages in the freezer to get to temp. Ice machine was out on top floor, used bottom floor one which you needed to insert your room key. When ice came out it came out a few pieces at a time so that was a bit of a pain but overall the we felt we did ok, saved some money and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haveagoodtime27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel the last 3 years but will not again. It was always a little run down but it is not a 2 star hotel. The rooms were filty when you call the front desk they will tell you that someone will be there but no one ever came the first or second day on the third day when someone finally came it was raining so we went to the Lobby while they so called cleaned the put the same sheets back on the bed, didn't vacumn, I had gone and bought cleaners to clean out the tub and shower the first day they still didn't even wipe it down. There where ants everywhere. The pool was closed to put in cleaner then it was cloudy the first two days, not umbrellas they said they were broke, all of the chairs where broke. My cell phone went missing after they cleaned when I reported it they acted very unconcerned and just said one has been turned in they wouldn't even call housekeepig. The kids and I all got sick I think from the mold and the AC kept kicking off so the room was hot and stuffy. The people next door woke us up drinking and fighting at 4:30 in the morning. Our room was non smoking but the people stood in front of the room smoking so it blew into our room. One lady stood outside her room all the time acting like a hooker. I would not give it one star DO NOT STAY HERE. Between paying for cleaning supplies, a new cell phone, sick children, bug spray we could have stayed at a 3 star hotel which is what we will do in the future.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE IT NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN. They are lying when they say it is a 2 star hotel it is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank txros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have a long term contract to complete in Austin, TX. and staying at the North Austin Plaza. A very nice hotel and staff. They really make my long term stay very comfortable and pleasant. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All Rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justdavis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#124 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Clarion Inn Austin North
#136 of 198 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#154 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#150 of 198 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Property: Econo Lodge North Austin
Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 198 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing