We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge North Austin
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$265
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Austin Central(Austin)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
W Austin(Austin)
$245
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa(Austin)
$269
$242
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveler rating
81
54
57
44
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
54
57
44
87
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 323 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have a long term contract to complete in Austin, TX. and staying at the North Austin Plaza. A very nice hotel and staff. They really make my long term stay very comfortable and pleasant. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All Rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justdavis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I took a standard room for a night. Room was not very clean. Blankets were giving a bad smell. No oven. No fridge. No breakfast. Price of one night stay is comparable. But not worth for the money you put. Not sure how the upgrade rooms are. Standard rooms require additional maintenance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trip_review123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

For a cheap hotel this was great. There is mold in the bathroom and the floor was not vacummed but for the price I paid I am not upset. The staff was very nice and the pool is great. If your needing a cheap but decent place then this is great!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times over the last 5 years, with mixed results, but still returned yearly b/c it was still a good value for a basic, clean room (for the most part) with a great swimming pool......well, apparently that was in the past and after this last visit, it is doubtful we will be returning.

In general, this visit we found the housekeeping and cleanliness of the room just abyssmal. Carpet looked like it hadn't been vaccumed in weeks, mold all over the shower curtain, grime and someone else's hairs on the bathroom counter, huge spider webs and a ton of dust on top of curtain/window, and just general "dirtier than acceptable" room this time. Bed sheets seemed clean, although there were visible cigarette burn holes on the blankets. Ugh. (mattresses were comfortable, though.....). Burnt out lightbulbs in the lamps, outlets that didn't work, sad little scratchy bath towels (only ONE wash rag for 3 people? Thanks!), coffee maker but no coffee cups, unidentifiable stains everywhere, peeling paint, dust and grime everywhere, water pressure and lukewarm shower water that was "in and out" and a leak in the bathroom sink, old tv with bad cable-------just a shabby rundown room for over $150 for 2 nights. :(

Additionally, in the past we had always found the outside property and pool area quite lovely and well maintained.....but that, too, seems to have changed. Tons of peeling paint now, including the entire ground area around the pool (although pool water itself was always sparkling clean and clear) and the pool furniture was mostly grungy dirty and/or broken----not very relaxing or pleasant at all.

And to top it off, we were all trying to get ready for a Saturday wedding (so lots of showering and primping) so it took us awhile to all get ready in the same room that morning, meaning that we stayed in our room from when we woke up till about 12:30 pm and then left for the rest of the afternoon and evening......so housekeeping could not come in that morning till we left at 12:30, yet when we returned that night it was evident that housekeeping NEVER bothered to re-check or come back to our room AT ALL. No cleaning, fresh towels or even trash pick up in the 2 nights we stayed. This same scenario has happened one other time we stayed here and we find this unnacceptable. Every other hotel/motel we stay at elsewhere has housekeeping at least check rooms that they had to skip at least once more later during the day, before the evening, but apparently at this motel if you don't let housekeeping in the ONE time they come (even if it is before 10 AM and you want to sleep in) you don't keep housekeeping services AT ALL. That is a shame b/c we generally tip well DAILY for decent housekeeping, so they missed out completely on this.

It is for all these reasons that we can no longer, in good conscience, recommend this motel to others. Unless your ONLY concern is budget, the lack of professional basic cleaning and upkeep makes this motel no longer a good choice in Austin, in our humble opinion.

Room Tip: If you still book here, request an "upgraded" or "renovated" room by the pool area as these rooms have flat screen tv's and seem to be a little nicer. The rooms in the very back of the hotel are terrible and very run down....avoid if at all possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank getwiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you don't want to pay for the outrageous prices for central Austin hotels, then the North Austin Plaza is a good alternative. The rooms are older, but clean - basic accommodations. The swimming pool will always be jammed packed with people during the warmer months. Check in was fast and our room was ready when we checked in. You'll need to book early if there is a large convention in town, such as SxSW, ROT Rally or Austin City Limits. If you're looking for a room for under $50 on the weekdays, the North Austin Plaza might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex to avoid freeway traffic sounds.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripKidNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews