We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austin Alternative Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Austin Alternative Hotel”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you don't want to pay for the outrageous prices for central Austin hotels, then the North Austin Plaza is a good alternative. The rooms are older, but clean - basic accommodations. The swimming pool will always be jammed packed with people during the warmer months. Check in was fast and our room was ready when we checked in. You'll need to book early if there is a large convention in town, such as SxSW, ROT Rally or Austin City Limits. If you're looking for a room for under $50 on the weekdays, the North Austin Plaza might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex to avoid freeway traffic sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripKidNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    57
    44
    88
See reviews for
64
71
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I've been here before. I just wanted a place to stay. Everything was clean (sheets, towels,etc.). The floor was questionable. It appeared to have never been cleaned. I got over that, just wore my shoes. But the entire night and into the morning was a never ending cockroach fiasco. They weren't large...small to medium sized. But they were everywhere. Thankfully never found one in my bed. I am not picky but when leaving a hotel makes me want to wash everything i brought, I was so grossed out I highly doubt I will ever return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

North Austin Plaza has always been good to me each and every time I stay with them. They are always freindly, and meet my every need. You will always receive the same quality as you would with a huge hotel chain, But with better treatment and a much better rate.
Thanks NAPI Staff...

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justdavis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Last night was our first trip to Austin and we arrived late at night. We reserved a room at North Austin due to its attractive rate, positive user ratings and 3-star recommendation from AAA. We are not picky travelers and view hotels just as a place to sleep and clean ourselves.

When we got there, I had a good feeling about the place. The front desk lady was nice and we got a room that was located right in front of where we parked our car. That was where the good things ended.

When we entered the room, it didn't look nor smell right. And I couldn't believe this: the carpet in the whole room was sticky. That was not the worst part. When we entered the bathroom and ready to take a shower, we noticed that the shower curtain was moldy and the bathroom door couldn't close properly. I also noticed that both the bath towel and the pillow cover had red stains on them. We ended up not using the towels and only used pillows that looked clean. I wasn't comfortable when taking my shower. Since we were so tired, we didn't have much choice but staying the night at this place.

My wife and I were even very upset at AAA for recommending this hotel. We couldn't believe that this place would be in business, let alone got 3-stars from AAA.

Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AReasonablePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We spent 3 nights at North Austin Plaza during SXSW. The hotel was just a place to sleep, and we spent literally no time there during the day -- for that purpose, it did the job. It was run down and in need of updates, but was reasonably clean. Some of the power outlets didn't work, had a musty/stale smell, weak water pressure, no safe, etc. Not a high-end hotel by any means.

If you're looking for a place to crash, this will do. If you're looking for a nice hotel or will be spending more time in the room, look elsewhere - there are plenty of other options within a half mile.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TA_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your most recent stay with us during South by SouthWest 2012.There will be major updates in the next 3-4 months. In fact, the hotel will be converting to a Quality Inn! We expect great things in the months ahead with the continued customer service you can expect when staying with our team. Glad you had a nice time during South by Southwest and we hope to welcome you back again. Thanks again for your feedback, always appreciated-

Charles Resta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this last weekend and were extremely disappointed! When we checked in on Friday, we asked for 2 extra pillows and were told they did not have any. When we returned to our room on Saturday night, it had not been cleaned or the bed changed/made. We went to the desk to get towels and received ones that appeared to have been floor towels in the 1960's. One of our friends was also staying at this hotel and when she checked in to her room, she found human waste in the toilet that had been there for some time. Even after she made them aware of it, the toilet was not properly cleaned. I cannot believe they stay in business!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Hello! We respect your opinion and appreciate your feedback. The front desk agent was not able to get you pillows because they were alone and can not leave the desk to go to housekeeping. We should have had more pillows available at the front desk. That is an error on our part.
As for your account of your friend's situation; we heard of this complaint some time after they checked into the room. When we went back to inspect the room there were visible stains around the toilet. NOT human waste as you put it! We certainly cleaned the toilet upon noticing these stains. Can't believe the amount of exaggeration in your account of your friend's situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#133 of 201 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#157 of 201 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#141 of 201 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Property: Econo Lodge North Austin
Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing