We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable, clean & family friend hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here twice we were very pleased with the accommodations. Very affordable, clean & family friendly place to stay. It was easy access to all of austin attractions. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilrico98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Hello again! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! I greatly appreciate your honest feed back. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you and your friends in the near future! Take care-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 324 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice during one week in July...the first and last nights of our trip in the Austin area. The rooms apparently are hit & miss because the first night, our room along the first floor interior was fine, but the last night, we were placed in an outside room on the backside of the building and could not receive internet access. I had to walk outside to the interior courtyard to get a signal. Also our room did not have a remote control for the TV and when my husband tried o manually change the channel, the TV would turn off. So we went to call the front desk and NO PHONE! Then I took a shower and was disgusted by the mold on the walls & ceiling of the shower. This might have explained the odor of the room in general. Will not take another chance on the inconsistencies of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the interior poolside (as close to their router as possible).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassyfrassydbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to submit an online review of your second stay. I do apologize that the second stay was not an enjoyable as the first stay. The room type you selected on your second stay is the least expensive room type we offer and does not come with a micro/fridge. I will certainly see who was responsible for inspecting your room as many things were missed in the inspection process! Thanks again for your input, always appreciated-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The hotel ended up being $60 more when we arrived. Then we got to the room and was missing light bulbs and a remote to the TV. We complained to the front office plenty of times and they kept saying they would come and fix it NO they didn't. They later tried to charge me for the light bulb and the remote. I had to talk to 2 different managers in order for them to take the charges off. Also the place had roaches and the doors would get stuck. Basically the house keeping was very nice. But if you don't have to stay here then don't. After reading the reviews before I stayd I thought it wouldnt be that bad but YES it was!!! And the Wifi only worked in our room if we sat in one spot.

DONT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domobeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Hello! Are you sure you have the right hotel? We do not charge for TV remotes or light bulbs period. Never had since the existence of the hotel. You had to have the charges removed? There is no SUCH charge that is even remotely possible to show up on your bill. We only have ONE front desk manager.......not sure what TWO managers you are referring to.

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Can't really complain for the price.
Very out dated hotel that is in desperate need of a make over.
Room smelt of mould, in fairness staff did offer 2 other rooms but they wernt much better. Should have security at night as very rough neighborhood, wouldn't recommend for families.
On last day staff where very rude, kept harassing me to check out even though I organized a late check out. They then said it will be an extra $3 and and kept chasing it, sersiouly wtf

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Traveller_m8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Hello! Thanks for your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel. The hotel does indeed have security that works at night. The staff is simply doing their job whenever a guest stays past the check out time. I have no idea where you got the $3 amount for a late check out? You can stay until 3pm for $25 if this is requested. Again, thanks for your feed back-

Charles Resta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have been staying at this hotel for several years. It has steadily been improving in quality and cleanliness. We are bowlers in the TPEA tournament annually held in Austin the last weekend in June. We have a group of at least 20 rooms each year from Fort Worth and Houston residents. No, it's not the Hilton, but it's clean and pretty well maintained. They allow our group to sit by the pool or in the general area until late into the night and visit. This is great since we only get together once a year. The price is great at $ 45 - $ 55 a night. The back area has some rooms rented by the week so you may want to request a room around the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pssprinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Hello! Thank you for submitting a survey from your most recent visit to the hotel. I also thank you for your patronage. It has been a pleasure welcoming you and the bowlers every June. We will continue to upgrade the hotel and our level of service. Thanks again for your feedback, take care-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stay here everytime im in austin and I've never have any problems .Everybody who works here has always been super nice and helpful .

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missdixie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2011

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to submit an online review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. We thank you for your patronage. Thanks again, take care-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Every time I come to Austin I stay here because of the ease of getting to town and all the areas surrounding Austin.The staff are always tries to make your stay a more pleasant one and they are always extremely nice! I would reccomend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sybanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 7, 2011

Hello! Thanks for your second review of your recent visit to the hotel. It is extremely rewarding to have you stay with us yet again. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again. If there is anything else we can do, please do not hesitate to ask-

Charles Resta
General Manager
North Austin Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 201 in Austin
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 201 in Austin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#138 of 201 in Austin
165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University / Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $54 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing