We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites. I refrained from posting my last visit's comments on Trip Advisor to see if our experience this trip was duplicated. I am happy to say, resoundingly, it was. Once again, the lobby at check-in was attractive, clean, and bright. The staff was friendly and accommodating when we requested the upgrade and the discount (from our previous stay.) We (two adults and four, 20-something) stayed in two adjoining rooms. In the past (I have stayed in many hotels from 1-5 stars) I always request a room away from the pool due to rowdiness/noise. On this particular stay, we took advantage of the 'upgrade', which was a poolside room with a refer and micro. Hear this: I thought the weekend during South By Southwest was busy/traffic inundated. NOT! Though we were here for a wedding, our visit corresponded with Texas Relays (What luck!) boasting 5000 athletes and 50,000+ visitors in Austin that weekend. The downtown traffic on Saturday eve was like nothing you have ever seen (I hope.) It took us 2 hours to get from I35 & 6th St. through one traffic light, to the I35 entrance ramp. Our hotel was obviously booked; last visit, (which corresponded with SXSW) I didn't see or hear a soul. This visit, every time I opened our door I saw up to half-a dozen hotel guests. We did not hear a sound either night!!! The hotel room: key card machine worked but one of the four keys did not - easy fix. The chain latch on our door (not the lock) was broken. Bed seemed comfier this time but still firm. Pillows same; flat, but two worked well. As last time, Hot water was HOT and cold was cold and it got hot quickly. There was much less lighting in our room this time; makes it difficult to find things in dark, soft side luggage. In these rooms, there was a shelf space in addition to the table in the room. LOVED THIS! A shelf and a table! Micro, refer, coffeemaker, TV and all plugs worked. The ironing board... well it was a Funniest Home Videos moment as it did not close properly. Voila! We used it as a luggage shelf! However, the iron worked well (didn't drip). The ice machine was close by and it worked well. Go figure -- Parking, once again, No Problem - each time we left, we returned to find a parking space right outside the stairs to our room. Once again, all the workout/cardio equipment in the exercise room worked. The pool was clean, but we did not take advantage of it. Our only complaint was that in one of the rooms, the carpet was wet, (from pool use) which was a little icky. Housekeeping would not be aware of this unless they were barefoot. Also, when we first arrived, one of the rooms had a strong Clorox?/disinfectant? smell. We received a Denney's 20% off coupon (for each room) which we used. Denney's was close, good service, hot food. There is also a Tiger Mart close by where we purchased milk and snacks. We met Charles Resta, the General Manager when we checked in. Keep up the great work, Charles -- we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trytriagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 14, 2011

Hello! Thanks so much for taking the time to submit an online review of your second stay. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay during a very busy weekend!
Also, thank you for your suggestions as these always help us grow and get better as a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. It was a pelasure having you stay with us. Thanks again-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 324 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

This was possibly, no absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were not properly cleaned, sheets were dirty, cobwebs on the walls, hair in the coffee pot and shower, and there were bugs crawling and jumping everywhere. We changed rooms 3 times with in 24 hours then finally changed hotels. Customer service was severely lacking and the manager was anything but professional. This place was a Dump and I highly recommend Never staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminicolormaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 15, 2011

Hello! Thanks for your survey and input. Sorry we were unable to make your stay an enjoyable one. Your stay was free of charge for your "troubles" you had to endure. Reminder, next time you stay at a hotel and notice something is not satifactory, you can notify the front desk immediately as we can move you to another room that you can also inspect with us. It makes no sense to stay in a hotel room and eat a pizza dinner in the bed, then ask to be moved to another room. Thanks again for your feedback, take care-

Charles Resta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This hotel & suites is an older property and is in need of TLC. I want to first say that the room was on the big side. There was alot of room and the bathroom was two rooms. First you walk into where the sink & clothes closet is and then another little room for the bathtub & toliet. I really liked having the two rooms. There was plenty of lighting especially over the computer area. The wifi worked great as did the TV. There isn't any kind of breakfast but our room had a table & chairs, fridge & microwave so we could eat there. It can't compare to the chain hotels that are on the newer side but for the price it was great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayingpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 23, 2011

Hello! Thank you very much for your honest feedback of your most recent visit to the hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and had a nice trip to Austin. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Thanks again-

Charles Resta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Although our poolside room was clean and comfortable it had a musty odor that lasted most of the night. It may just have been that the room wasn't recently used. Towels were thin and cheap toiletries were provided. There is no breakfast offered. We chose to check out a Baymont across the street for our second night and for about the same price we were much happier.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 4, 2011

Hello! Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the property in February.
Your input has been noted and we will act upon it ASAP. Glad that you found the room clean and comfortable and hope to see you in the near future! Thanks again for your time-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My family (husband, 4 year old and 14 year old) and I stayed at the North Austin Plaza hotel from 2/16-2/22. Overall we had a great stay! The room was clean, the cleaning crew - Hortencia - was friendly and timely, the TV was top-notch, and even the pool - although cold - was clean and entertaining. The evening front desk representative was professional and extremely helpful in directing us towards local attractions and excellent restaurants. Although the initial allocation of towels was sparse, we were able to recieve more with a simple request, which was nice. The workout gym and laundry facilities were decent and functional as well - which was important to us during our extended stay. The "business center" was bare-bones (not even a pdf reader or MS Office on the computer), but worked for surfing the web. The in-room free wi-fi worked well throughout our stay.

The hotel has a policy of not allowing local residents to stay there, which I feel definitely increases the quality of the clientele and overall perception of the establishment. We were there during the marathon and, apparently, a tae kwon do tournament. I don't know if it was because the guests were primarily athletes, or if the "no-locals" policy is effective at dissuading wild parties, but we enjoyed a great night's sleep all weekend.

Of course, as a "budget-friendly" hotel, it's not the Omni or Driskill, but you still get 7/8ths of the amenities at 1/10th of the price. We were pleasantly surprised and will return on our next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliannws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 1, 2011

Hello! I appreciate your feedback regarding your most recent stay. Your ideas are noted and we will do our best to improve on the property and services we offer. We always value input from our guests. I am extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future! Thanks again-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

been staying at this hotel for about 3yrs now, decided to spend the few more $$ to stay in the "nicer" room. what i found was a room that was the same as any other room I have stayed in any other time but smaller, towels were thin and dingy. this was the worst stay at this hotel EVER and i dont plan to return. i will recommend this hotel on it's value but will not recommend the upgrade, save your money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-fowler1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 24, 2011

Hello! Thanks for your continued patronage during the last 3 years at our hotel. The Pool Side units are NOT smaller, and the rooms are guaranteed a micro-fridge, newer bedding, newer carpet and most have a 42"FLAT SCREEN TV. It would have been extremely simple to show you a different poolside room that you would enjoy. I did not realize there was "hype" for our poolside units. You simlply select the room type, and we call your room 15 minutes after check in to see if you are satisfied with the room. We are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied and would love to welcome you back since you are a 3 year returning guest. Thanks again for your input-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay here for 3 nights based on mostly good reviews from this site. The location is very convenient right off of hwy 35. The lobby is really nice with a professional looking and acting staff. We got there in mid morning, but we were allowed an early check-in which we appreciated.

The room we had faced the pool which was nice. The room was very roomy with a seperate bathroom area. This is an older hotel with a few rough edges. The huge mirror in the bathroom needs to be replaced - it was in rough shape. The room was very very clean. The only exception was a few cob webs on the curtain rod by the front door, no big deal. It seemed there was always someone walking around and picking up the grounds around the building. Someone is doing a nice job of training the staff, I appeciated the staff inside and outside of the lobby making eye contact and saying good morning each day.

The hotel was very full, but it was still quiet at night. There is no breakfast included but they do have good coffee in the lobby.

The free wireless internet worked well.

Check out went smoothly.

We will stay here again the next time we are in Austin.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 24, 2011

Hello! Thanks so much for taking your time to submit an online review of your most recent stay. Very pleased to hear my staff treated you well and you had an enjoyable visit. Thank you for mentioning the housekeeping issues, as we will strive to get better and more precise in our work. It is very rewarding to hear feed back from our guests. We hope to see you in the near future! Thanks again-

Charles Resta
General Manager
North Austin Plaza Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 201 in Austin
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#156 of 201 in Austin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#138 of 201 in Austin
165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University / Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $55 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing