We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Napa in Austin”
Review of Ronnie's Real Food

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ronnie's Real Food
Ranked #1,396 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $24 - $28
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Like Napa in Austin”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Ronnie provides the personal touch that comes from offering a different fixed menu each week. The selection is either meat, fish or vegetarian. Reservations are required. It's a small place in a woodsy setting. Bring your own wine. No corkage fee and stemware is provided. It's a great value for a quality gourmet meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fnewton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ronnie's Real Food is a gem in the Austin restaurant scene”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is quiet, the food is good (from a prix fixe menu), you can bring your own drinks (no corkage fee). There is always something unusual on the menu - when was the last time you could get a cream of asparagus soup? You are not rushed to clear the table after you finished the meal. You'll have to make your food selection when making your reservation. We've been back three times in a year which is a lot to say because we prefer to cook at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeTravelingTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX, USA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ronnie's Real Food is indeed a unique dining experience. There is a set menu each week, with 3 entree selections plus a salad and desert. You bring your own wine/beer and there is NO corkage fee. The restaurant is located on the outskirts of Austin, TX, really out in the country, in a small house in a wooded area. It seats only about 30 people. Ronnie greets and serves you. The food is good - not outstanding -but flavorful, interesting combinations. It is definitely worth the drive out there. Reservations recommended because you select your entree prior to going. We will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTXUSAJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful respite”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We've never been to any place like Ronnie's, which seems to be an Austin insiders' treasure. It's a small building located among trees in the rolling hills west of town. The concept is unusual - Ronnie posts the 4-course, prix fixe menu online (soup, entree, salad & dessert) ahead of time; the entree includes a meat course & a vegetarian option. When you call you tell him which entree you want.

There is only one seating, at 7 p.m. The meal is discounted on Wednesdays, Thursdays & Sundays, & gratuity & non-alcoholic beverages are included. Bring your own wine - there's no corkage fee. There are about eight or ten tables, with lovely damask tablecloths. Quiet music plays, the view out the large windows is pastoral & so relaxing! Ronnie's website says that well-behaved children are allowed, but we've been there twice & only adults were there both times.

When we went, this time the menu was Greek-themed, with a cold cucumber soup, moussaka, Greek salad, & walnut-honey torte. The soup was delicious, & we loved the moussaka. I make my own, which is pretty good, & Ronnie's was better. The salad was lavish with olives & feta, & the dessert delicious. Ronnie was happy to share cooking tips with us, including how he prepped his eggplant & potatoes. His service was attentive but never intrusive, & we enjoyed a chance to sit back in a quiet, serene atmosphere & enjoy an absolutely delicious meal.

Was there anything we 'liked least'? Not a thing. We'll be back again soon, with guests.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TexasClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ronnie's Real Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing