We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed June 1, 2007

The hotel description on expedia said this place had a pool. No such luck. "Closest pool is Barton Springs about a mile down the road", said the young lady at the desk. The place reeked of some kind of desinfenctant when we walked in. Our room smelled stale and mildewy. The furniture was old and worn out. Not worth the price of $153 a night. Should have stayed at the Embassy 1/2 block down the street. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Winstonsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2007

This is the grossest room in which I've ever stayed. The room was obviously dirty - hair in the shower, dirty floors/walls, roaches & other insects. I only stayed two nights but I won't EVER stay there again. The front desk staff seemed unconcerned with my feedback on the room...but they said they'd tell the manager. Sure.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jenn_Xer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

Hotwire gave a great price of $75. You can walk to restaurants or cook/reheat from Whole Foods which is about 1 mile away. Across the street is "Zax's Pints & Plates." It is a nice restaurant even for ladies who lunch, or Hooter's for BB time. The hotel was quiet, clean and the staff friendly. The true gem is the ability to walk across the stree to the Town Lake Hike & Bike trail. Outdoor exercising after a business day or driving day is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

The place is dirty, older, and has bugs. The maids barely do anything to your room.
the kitchens are not stocked w/ what you need to prepare much of anything.
I've had dial-up connections that were faster than their high-speed wirelss.
I spend 52 weeks a year in hotels accross the continent, and this is probably one of the worst experiences I've had in the last 5 years.
The people at the front desk are friendly, but that didn't improve any of the things I dislike about this hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank woodystour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We chose this hotel for its location across the street from the Palmer Events Center, where we were attending a trade show; and for its low rate of $90 a night. We were mistakenly given a room that hadn't yet been cleaned. This turned out to be a good thing, because when we went back to the front desk the clerk upgraded us to a larger room to apologize for the problem.

All the rooms here have kitchenettes because it's an extended-stay property. At first glance, the room looked fine, but on closer inspection it was clear that the housekeeping staff is out to lunch. The mirrored closet door was all streaked, and when I went to get a small plate from the kitchen cabinet, there was butter all over the bottom! Disgusting! The bed was clean though, and comfortable.

The front desk staff is very nice and helpful. They gave us maps, directions, etc.., made photocopies for us and helped us with other business-related issues.

If the housekeeping staff learns how to clean, this place would be a lot better. Not sure if I'd stay there again.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank ChelseaGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2006

After reviewing the other reviews, I was reluctant to stay at this facility. However, due to its central location (restaurants abound in the area!), I decided to book my stay there.
Contrary to what I had read in other reviews, the place is neat, clean, well maintained, has an excellent, courteous, professional staff, and if a problem exisits, management is prompt in bringing resolution to whatever the problem was. The overnight rate was not unreasonable, and the cooking facilities for an extended stay hotel were reliable, as was storage cabinet space for food stuffs.
There is no doubt that I would stay at this facility again. There was no detection of any mold odor, and the 24 hour front office staff accommodated every need. Paper thin mattresses were certainly not in our suite.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

The smell in the lobby and hallways was intolerable. Besides, Homestead Village is dirty and unkept. The lamp shades in my room had stains all over them (i don't what to know). The carpet and bathrooms were not clean. The beds are horrible- besides thin matresses the sheets don't stay on and the pillows are paper thin.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bdh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-1207 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $106 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing