We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with possibilites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #10 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Good ambience. Nice lobby. Appears to be an established property that’s had a good upgrade. Clean room, albeit small. Interacted with restaurant, concierge and desk staff. Experiences were fine, but nothing I’d put in the exceptional category. Had a minor charge on my bill that wasn’t mine and had to follow-up several times to get it reversed.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank AnnFran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

We are thrilled that you found our property and staff acceptable, and we thank you for taking time to share your comments. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon, and change your mind enough to rate us in your "exceptional" category! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Overall excellent hotel accommodations and staff. Very clean, newly remodeled, great features. This will be by place to stay when Im in Austin. Tammie Linden with the business center was a great help!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you! We appreciate the kind words and hope we are able to host you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Loved the hotel, the room, etc. Very comfortable, well-appointed, pristine spaces. Charming bar, excellent service from all of the staff we encountered, from the parking guys on "up." Even better, TWO WEEKS after we returned home, I glanced at the receipt from the hotel and found a mistake. I sent ONE e-mail and received an almost immediate response, with an apology and a promise to credit our card. Now THAT's service.

HIGHLY HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyslittlesister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you so much for that wonderful review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent a weekend in Austin at the Stephen F and it was great. The service was excellent, special thanks to Anthony Porter, our Guest Sercices coordinator. We had special requests for our room and they were very attentive to details. The room was great, we had the Bridal Suite on the top floor and did not want to leave. The location is perfect and we look forawrd to going back soon.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the top floor and were very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing and we're looking forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Incredible Customer Service. I travel the world on business, and each time I stay at the Austin property, I am ALWAYS greeted by the wonderful Viviana, Jamiliah and,or Tammie. In my most-recent stay, I had not seen Jamiliah yet, she called me to welcome me and proceeded to upgrade me.

This hotels makes you feel welcome, has incredible rooms, and serves its brand name very well!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

We are so very happy knowing you feel so content and hopefully, like one of our "family" when staying with us. Thank you for specifically mentioning some of our great associates, and thank you for your continued loyalty. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Old historic hotel in the middle of downtown Austin. The room was the smallest I have ever seen in an American hotel. The bed took up most of the room. The view out the window was of large rooftop A/C equipment and not much else. I imagine most of the rooms in the hotel at least have a better view.

Service was friendly. The bed was comfortable.

The location is good for downtown business and entertainement destinations. But parking is pricey, so it is not a good spot for non-Downtown destinations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. And yes, it's true some of our rooms are small. Being an historic property that is simply the case, however on your next visit please ask our front desk agent for a larger room with a better view! We will always do our very best to accommodate! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really does have a lot going for it. Value, location, convenience, and more! My wife and I stayed here and were very impressed with all aspects of our experience. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the location is close to everything you need. We will be staying here again for sure.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

We certainly do appreciate that wonderful review! Thank you so much, and looking forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 204 in Austin
2,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 204 in Austin
2,315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 204 in Austin
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#21 of 204 in Austin
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $205 - $638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel like you are truly experiencing Austin from the moment you arrive. Originally built in 1924 and located in the heart of downtown Austin just one block from 6th Street, 5 blocks from the State Capital, and surrounded by all the best that Austin has to offer. Enjoy our rich history, luxurious facilities and accommodations, and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing