We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Southwest(Austin)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$194
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$165
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Austin at South Park(Austin)(Great Value!)
$121
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wyndham Garden Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveler rating
917
288
88
34
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
917
288
88
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroaring forkterrace barfront deskclub roomgreat hotelcapitol buildingheart of downtowncongress avenuewalking distancevalet stafffavorite hotelmini barvalet parkingsixth streetthe location is perfectbed was very comfortablebusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
1,254 - 1,259 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our stay here was the best. They upgraded our room to a suite when my husband mentioned it was our anniversary--at no extra charge. We had room service the first night, and the food was delicious--as good as we've had in any restaurant anywhere. The hotel restaurant and bar are top of the line with excellent food and drinks. But what makes this hotel outstanding are the people. This hotel has managed to hire people who truly care and enjoy their jobs, and it really shows.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 12th floor, and the view was beautiful, especially at night when the capitol was lit up. So, I would suggest the higher floors for the view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Happy belated anniversary! We're so glad to have been part of your celebration, and hope that we were able to contribute to some wonderful memories of such a special occasion. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Getting past the small size of the rooms, the hotel was beautiful. Nice hot tub and lap pool. The terrace bar serves up an amazing fancy mac and cheese and even had good cider. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katabw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

So glad you were able to taste the mac and cheese! It's a favorite! Thank you for the survey and for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The staff from the doormen, reception, room service, restaurant staff & maid service were very well trained, gracious and accommodating. I was here for a business trip and the confirmations were done by office personnel. For best results for through the hotel directly, TripAdvisor or go through my site CatsMeowTravel.com. For a block of rooms, be sure to get all the details. Rates are not the same daily, they increment. The room was clean, spacious and the hotel is well situated in the city.

Room Tip: If you have the need for sharing a room, a sofa bed will be placed in the room if other rooms are already booked.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for pointing out so many areas of the hotel that met your expectations! We hope to see you again the in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and have stayed in many wonderful hotels in Austin. The Intercontinental tends to be the one we most often come back to. It is a beautiful facility, always clean and comfortable, an extremely convenient location and candidly a great value (the up grade that allows the use of the "club international" is worth every penny.

I am writing this review because during our most recent visit I was very aware of the outstanding service. From the valet to the front desk to the house keeper we have been treated with kindness and efficiency. We are in town for a business convention and the hotel is at full occupancy yet the service has not suffered. I would like to mention especially, Veronica who works in the club and lounge. I witness her serving over 20 tables this morning while guests flew in for a quick breakfast before the start of their meetings. She handled the on slot with grace and was still able to offer "extras" such as a cappuccino for the road. Truly above and beyond. We all know that a hotel can have a nice environment but if the service is not there it will not be an enjoyable stay. This hotel gets high stars in both categories.

Room Tip: We have never had an issue with noise from busy 6th Street but we have always been on the 7th floor or higher...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 25,262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We are delighted that you love our hotel! Your comments are most appreciated, and I will make sure to share not only with Veronica but with her manager as well. We feel so grateful to have her as well as every other associate who make up this wonderful property. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to the next time you are in Austin, whether business or pleasure! Take care and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I love the fact that this hotel is in the heart of Austin. Its walking distance to everything music , restaurants , people watching etc. I love the ambiance of this old hotel that has been remodeled very nicely. We had a room facing Congress, there was never any issues of noise here from the street. We had one issue one night when a huge party erupted next door at 2 am but security took care of it immediately. The room was very large and comfortable, we had large bedroom area , separate from the sitting area which also had bar/counter area. Every day in the afternoon you could go down and have complimentary wine , champagne ,beer and appetizer's. Also delicious breakfasts in the Intercontinental hotel or you can choose their continental breakfasts as part of your hotel package.
They also have a great restaurant in the hotel called the Roaring Fork . Upstairs there is a bar and fantastic wrap around balcony for some cocktails. All of the staff were so gracious and fun, to name a few that i dealt with ,were Marissa, Jackie, Vivianna and Thomas . Loved the atmosphere and would return. This is such a great city, so colorful ,fun and it comes alive at night. Also check out the Driscoll hotel for its history. Then walk to the Texas state capitol ,this is a cool place to take a tour and and sit in one of their session's.

Room Tip: We didn't have a noise issue and we were facing congress, but others have said if you were on the lower floors facing 7th it can get a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

It sounds like your trip to Austin was perfect! Lots of fun and interesting venues within walking distance of the InterContinental; I am so pleased you were able to take advantage of them. Thank you for such a detailed survey, hitting on so many areas of the hotel. We are most grateful for your kind words, and for your loyalty. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews