We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very enjoyable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked a club room for a weekend stay. Upon arrival the desk clerk offered a suite upgrade for a small addition, which I accepted. I was concerned about room noise coming from the rowdy 6th St. area but this wasn't an issue at all. The windows seem to be triple pane and the room was quiet. We enjoyed a view of the Capitol and of Congress Avenue. The club room, which is accessible from behind the receptionist, was very convenient. In the mornings, breakfast for all hotel guests is served in the club room, but in the afternoon and evening it becomes a quiet refuge. The suite was pleasant and comfortable. Only complaint would be the shower/tub combo as opposed to a nicer shower, but the shower fittings were good quality. I'd definitely book here again. Very well run hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridgebackfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest! I'm so glad you were able to experience the upgraded room with the fantastic view of the Capital. It's especially beautiful at night. Hope to have you back again very soon. In the meantime, have a wonderful remainder of the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Upgraded to suite. Really nice room. Well laid out. Very user friendly had plugs bedside to charge phones etc. Also had a really cool master control handheld bedside to control lights temp and tv. Tv had Direct Tv and a guide like at home not the usual lodge net unfriendly system. At turn down time they lay out robe slippers and fill the ice bucket. All on all really nice hotel with fantastic service

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking time to share comments from your recent stay! Testimonials, referrals and reviews are the most sincere compliments that you can offer us, and we truly appreciate them. I hope you enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Houston. This hotel is an absolute gem in the heart of downtown Austin. It looked a little old in the photos I viewed online prior to arrival but in real life, I was delighted to see that everything felt high quality, elegant, clean and not at all dated. Our room was spacious. I loved the amenities, the large marble bathroom and especially the vanity (complete with makeup bench and a variety of mirrors!) Complimentary coffee in the morning and fruit water the rest of the day was an added touch. Free wifi was available in the lobby and it would have been great if it was available free in the room but that would be my only minor qualm.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank VancouverCDN_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

What a wonderful compliment, thank you! On behalf of the entire staff of the InterContinental, we are grateful that we met your expectations, and hope we are able to welcome you back in the very near future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The InterContinental is a great hotel, great value. The room was really pretty, very clean (and I'm picky about this - especially the bathrooms), albeit a little small. They just did a big renovation in early 2013, and it feels fresh, even though it's an older building. Great location - It's right near 6th street, the state capital, warehouse district.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are so proud of our newly-renovated product, and are particularly pleased that our guests love it as well! Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to share your experience, and thank you too for your loyalty to InterContinental and IHG! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for about 10 years when I travel to Austin. The staff goes out of its way to make my stays memorable. Hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are warm and welcoming, as well as functional. Sometimes the rates can be a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. The downtown location is great with easy access to all things one comes to Austin for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mehrlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for you continued patronage. Over the past 10 years, you have been through a lot with us, including renovation! Your very kind comments are priceless, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ferhat Turan initially helped me with this reservation...he has ALWAYS provided my wife and I with OUTSTANDING, WORLD-CLASS customer service! While Ferhat was out on vacation, both Anthony Porter and Anthony Esquival stepped in and helped with an added upgrade....and what an upgrade!!! Veronica provided us with an exceptional level of attention and customer service as we dined in the Club Lounge...as she has ALWAYS done for us before. So thank you again, Ferhat and Veronica....and thank you Anthony and Kenneth for helping make this one of my VERY TOP birthday celebration experiences!!! This was an AWESOME experience.....that my wife and I will never forget.

Room Tip: Corner suites on the Congress Street side have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Happy (belated) birthday! We are thrilled to have our repeat guests chose the InterContinental to share their special occasions, and it's so gratifying to know that we met your expectations for your big day! Thank you for taking time to write this, and for specifically commenting the great guest service! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

In Austin for a family wedding in July, we spent two nights here. The hospitality could not have been more satisfying, friendly and helpful but not intrusive, and the room was delightful. If only other "five-star" hotels would live up to this standard!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbx295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so very much for those very kind comments. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 201 in Austin
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $159 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing