We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality, downtown Austin luxury.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top quality, downtown Austin luxury.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The SFA (as they told me in their Tweet) is a very nice upscale hotel in the heart of Downtown Austin. Convenient for 6th Street and the Capitol. The staff were excellent at all points, very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is more European in style and all fittings are of high quality.

The pool was undergoing refurbishment at the time but the area with the gym was very nicely done.

All in all, an excellent stay. Well done to all the staff,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for those very generous remarks! While it's true we have a privileged location next or close to so many great Austin venues, we are equally as proud of our wonderful staff and the consistent, great guest service they provide. We appreciate the fact that you found both aspects acceptable, and hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    223
    72
    25
    6
See reviews for
148
318
37
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My recent stay at hotel was awesome! My family really enjoyed the stay because of the most friendly and hospitable staff!!

I strongly recommend this hotel for stay, you can’t find this level of service in another hotel in Austin. They credit goes to the management and the staff!!! Great job!!!

Looking forward to stay again and again!!!!

fm

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fslmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind remarks! Testimonials, referrals and reviews and the most sincere compliments that you can offer us, and we truly appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule to share. I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the very near future! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Staff was very helpful, the hotel lobby is very impressive. Our room was recently renovated and very nice and comfortable. The downtown central location was perfect, as we could walk to 6th street, shopping and the Capital. The only inconvenience was that the pool was not in operation, and even though we could visit the Omni's pool with our room key, this was too inconvenient to bother with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are delighted that you found our hotel to have an excellent location for so many venues here in Austin! I am sorry though, that our pool was not available during your stay. Here's hoping your next trip to Austin brings you back to the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin where you can experience a dip in our newly-renovated lap pool! Thank you and have a delightful remainder of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was in town for an 8 day conference which I normally find very fatiguing in a hotel stay, but was very pleasantly impressed with the Intercontinental. The room was large, clean and all the amenities you could need were stocked in the room. Staff were very friendly and helpful with suggestions of place to go and the location was perfect for walking everywhere.

One disappointment, was that they charge for wifi in the room, which I find surprising for a hotel of this level. Fortunately, when I raised the issue, they immediately provided it complimentary for the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_JU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for that kind review! The InterContinental's location is unique. It truly is easy to navigate around downtown Austin, regardless of whether you're sightseeing, looking for one of our wonderful restaurants or simply wanting some live music, we've got it covered! I hope we contributed toward making an otherwise non-exciting conference week away from home, into one that was memorable. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night over the weekend and thought it to be an average property. We paid for Club access where with the exception of breakfast; the room was basically deserted with a few soda options, tiny bottles of water (8 ounces) and some cookies but nothing close to what you might find in a Ritz or international IHG property lounge. Since the so called “Club lounge” on the first floor had no evening cocktails to offer other than bottom of the barrel liquor and cheap gas station wine, my wife and I walked upstairs to the 2nd floor bar where we thought the staff to be boring and primarily there out of obligation. The cocktails we ordered for $12 each were lackluster at best. Thank goodness for a Ruth’s Chris one block over where we finally managed to get a descent drink with a smile for the same price. Overall, okay to stay in a regular room but don’t waste your money on the Club lounge price and do not purchase food/drinks in the hotel as there is better quality and better priced options elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shagadelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the dissapointment you experienced as our guest recently. It is certainly not the norm, as our staff is one of our biggest assets here at the InterContinental and we pride ourselves on providing great guest service. However, rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously. We realize you have many choices when it comes to choosing hotels, and appreciate your patronage. Thank you for your constructive critisism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We traveled down for a weekend getaway and were impressed from the moment that we checked in. This is an older boutique hotel right in the heart of everything. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a suite on the 11th floor. The bed was very comfortable and the suite was very spacious. The only negative is the temporary closure of the pool due to renovations. We opted not use the valet and parked at a garage around the corner for $7.00. The staff is very professional and accommodating and we are looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We love that you chose the InterContinental Stephen F. Austin for your weekend getaway! I do apologize for our pool not being available. I'm sure you would have loved to take advantage of it with our hot Texas summer ensuing. My hope is that you will be able to return and take full advantage of it one day soon! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I visited this hotel on July 6th for a one night break from the kids! We booked on Priceline and we were a little concerned because of some of the reviews we read on trip advisor. Many of the photos and reviews showed the intercontinental in a state of disrepair. I want to assure anyone that is reading this that the hotel is pristine! It was renovated early this year. We had a wonderful experience with the hotel and especially with the staff. We highly recommend this hotel. The location is perfect as well.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawson0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed not only Austin, but the InterContinental Stephen F Austin as well! We are all very proud of our newly renovated product, as we are of our incredible staff! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing