We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel in the Heart of the Action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel in the Heart of the Action”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for a work function. The hotel is centrally located downtown adjacent to Sixth Street. It has a vibrant bar and restaurant - great people watching. Loved the second floor deck although the cigar and cigarette smoke was tough on my eyes - YES apparently you can still smoke in Texas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and bar, although please do accept our apologies for the cigar and cigarrette smoke. We are a non-smoking property, EXCEPT for the Terrace of our bar Stephen F's on the second level!

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    217
    70
    24
    6
See reviews for
143
307
35
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Large clean rooms, internet is serviceable but could be better. Quaint bar. Service was great. Really interesting hotel in a great location. Would recommend staying there. Bed was comfortable. This hotel has real character and is not the standard box like hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumitray234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for those wonderful comments! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
224 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just one block off of crazy 6th street. The rooms are excellent with lots of space and a great lay out. The bathroom is very large with a good shower. The bed is comfortable. The large flat panel TV has tons of channels to choose from. The internet speeds are OK. The rooms have a small mini bar with a tiny little personal space to fit a couple of your own bottles of water. The air conditioner in the room works great. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post such a wonderful review of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at Austin Icon.. Upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. Service is good, and food is ok. We did have a fire alarm, and we're informed everything was fine by intercom. However we had to take the stairs, it the elevator

All in all I would recommend staying here

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Foodjunkie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay. I apologize for the fire alarm interrruption, but am so pleased you found our property as satisfactory. I hope we are able to welcome you back soon!

Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed on the 14th floor and the room decor was modern, new and cozy. Room was not huge (we had a standard), but perfect size for my husband and I. We loved the location - close enough to explore the city. Although it was one week after South by Southwest, we expected the price to go down a but sadly, price remained the same AND we had to pay for WIFI. The fitness facility is large, although the pool is a lap pool and cannot fit more than 2 people doing laps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for the very helpful comments you left regarding your recent stay. Being an historic property, some of our guestrooms and common areas are not as large as we would like, and the pool area is certainly one we wish was a bit larger. Unfortunately we are limited to a lap pool, and I'm certainly pleased you were able to take advantage of it while you were our guest.

We appreciate your loyalty to IHG and hope to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the what the price included Happy Hour, Champagne Tea hour, deluxe room, breakfast and MOST importantly late check out (2 pm). I was completely disappointed that Do Not Disturb sign was not respect. I had called prior to arrival to ensure our late check would be honored and when we checked in. Maid came around 12:45 pm to remind od us of 2 pm check ignoring the DND sign. Then around 1 pm things became loud in hallway and in next room we could hear the doors banging loudly. We had not heard anyone in room before. We decided to exit room @ 1:20.

Three others issues: loud music from 6th street district, a/c noise, and TV channel weak (D TV). We stayed on 14th floor but music goes on until 2 am then you have to deal with a/c noise. Each time it turned on it woke you. My husband is a deep sleeper and it even kept him from getting a good nite sleep. Direct TV signal would go out often.

Staff was nice except for the one maid, rooms extremely clean and large, breakfast was good, gym clean, bed was heavenly, and location is great.

BTW Roaring fork which is connected to hotel has outstanding food.

Room Tip: Ask for interior room if you plan on sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zmkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments, both the flattering ones and the ones we need to "work on". I do apologize for the disturbance from our housekeeping staff and hallway, and I hope you are willing to give us a second chance, this time staying in a room away from our famous 6th Street! I will be sure to bring the issues you mentioned to the appropriate departments here.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the perfect location to stay for exploring Austin. The hotel has it all - comfortable and well appointed rooms, wonderful restaurant, valet parking, and if you are lucky enough to be on a club level floor you get access to the club room. The club room has free WiFi, a full breakfast and snacks and beverages through the afternoon and evening.

The only complaint I would have is that for the price paid for the room and quality of the hotel the entire hotel should provide free WiFi - why nickel and dime guests for access.

Room Tip: The free perks are worth being paying a bit more for club level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floydova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We certainly appreciate the kind comments you have shared! And yes, at this time we are charging for Internet except for the Club floors; not a popular decision but at the time it is one that we much abide by. Thank you again for the feedback, and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing