We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER FILTHY, MOLDY AND NO ROOM SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Ranked #129 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed May 10, 2009

I have reported this hotel to the better business bureau and the Austin City Board of Health. Several groups with our wedding party checked out immediatly because of the moldy rooms and the urinated sheets.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westernercolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 347 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2009

Don't stay here on the weekend unless you are ready for a sleepless night. We arrived on a Thursday for a conference and found the hotel clean, in a great location, reasonably priced and safe.
All that changed on Friday night. Apparently there was some track meet going on in Austin and all the hooligans decided to stay in our hotel. We were next door and across the hallway from some thugs who kept SLAMMING their doors all night. Until 4 am, they slammed doors, screamed, hollered, and partied it up. We called the front desk at least six times, and they refused to call the police for noise. We begged them to do so, but they refused, stating something lame like 'we need a warrant' which is an utter and total falsehood. Refusing to provide us with service is the reason why I will never stay here again. Not only that but there was vomit in the elevator and on the lobby floors when we checked out.
I realize it's not the hotel's fault that people were noisy but the way they dealt with it was poor. They should have kicked the offending parties out.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Ours was a comedy of errors, but safe to say that most of it was due to inefficiently trained staff.
To begin with, the directions given be their staff were wrong.
Our booking was wrong, we had to change rooms due to my friend needing universal handicapped room(shower stall). At first they tried to give us a room with ONE King, we needed 2 queens. The manager finally comped the second room.
My tub was dirty(I don't think it should have had black grout around the tub....it looked a lot closer to mold/mildew than decoration), my friend's sink plugged and we couldn't pay the way we wanted to pay, even after we ask them at least 3 times if they could split the bill or how else can we pay--Red Roof Inn needs to train their staff.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kimjnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Me and 3 girls stayed at this hotel briefly. The outside of the hotel seems nice an updated, but the inside is a different story. When we arrived the floor in our room was very damp - The room was rather bare and echoed really bad - we had to go to the front to get a remote for the TV. The nights sleep was not great and one of the beds was HORRIBLE!

The next night we arrived back late to our hotel and found that the mattress was in terrible conidition - The picture posted on this site was what it looked like. 11:30pm and a girl in our room made a call to the front desk where he was LESS that customer friendly. She had to go to the front desk for help and he was not helpful and ended calling the cops for us to leave. (when he was the real problem) We got our money back and left to find a nicer hotel! Thank goodness we left there - the cops had even mentioned it was not a nice place!

Don't STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank myag8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The place was disgusting!! The moment we stepped out of the elevator, you were nearly knocked out by the smell of marijuana!! We had 5 rooms--none were supplied well. We each had about an eighth of a roll of toilet paper, and two towels. When you tried to call to get more supplies, they refused to answer the phone. Then we were treated rudely when we asked for supplies. And as if this wasn't enough, when I pulled back the covers on the bed -- there it was-- a BOOGER was wiped on the linens! We all collected our things and checked out immediately!!! I will never be guilty of staying at another Red Roof Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loves-to-travel-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

On August 10th, I prepayed for a room at Red Roof Inn Austin South. I asked for a nonsmoking room and got a room that was filled with smoke and a soaking wet floor. I asked for another room and it was completely trashed. The third room, I got a key for would not open. The fourth room I attempted to stay in was still unsatisfactory. After we moved our luggage up and down the stairs, we finally ended up in the fourth room which the beds were not made and the head board from the bed frame was laying on top of the bed. Since I was very tired I stayed the night at this hotel, but two hours of scrambling up and down the stairs to find a room for the night definitely was not worth it!
On top of the bad service, I was charged twice for my one night stay at Red Roof Inn Austin South. I've called Red Roof Inn several times asking for the manager who is almost never at work. After finally contacting the manager, he attempted to refund the money, but the money never got refunded. He made a mistake which I was charged two more times and then credited back the two extra charges. Still to this day September 17th, 2007 I am waiting for my refund. I am very disappointed about the service I received from this hotel.
I DO NOT recommend anyone to choose this hotel! This hotel is a RIP-OFF!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dieseltechhead19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bryant, Arkansas
17
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We checked in on 10 July 2006 with a two night confirmed reservation through Expedia.
While visiting my sick hospitalized brother all day Tuesday the 12th of July they rented
our room to four Hispanic men who were lounging on our beds and using the bathroom when we returned later that evening. All of this while our clothes and luggage were
still where we had left them in the room. After my heated discussion with the front desk
they tried to tell us we were only registered for one night even though my copy on the
Expedia confirmation was in my hand and shown to them. They finally let us have another
room and said they would not charge for the second night of stay. They have not lived up to their word, my bill has not been corrected nor have we received the apology they said
we would receive as soon as we arreived home. My recommendation is to avoid this
motel and to not do scheduling through Expedia.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
8.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
8.5 mi away
The Highlander Austin
The Highlander Austin
#123 of 202 in Austin
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Signature Austin South Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham Austin Airport
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#47 of 202 in Austin
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Address: 4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to I-35, SR-71 and South Congress Ave (SoCo) shopping district. The Red Roof Inn Austin is conveniently located near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), University of Texas-Austin, Southwest Texas State University and St. Edward's University. This hotel is also near the Texas State Capitol, Lyndon B. Johnson Memorial Library, Texas Memorial Stadium, Krieg Field and Palmer Auditorium.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South with free WiFi, suites, an outdoor heated pool, in-room safes, elevators, interior corridors, and more. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin - University Of Texas Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing