We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value near Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Ranked #116 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Value near Airport”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great Value with a recently renovated facility.right off HWY 35 within a 12 minute drive to the Austin Airport. Very clean and great beds. I would stay anytime I fly out of Austin. Nice and helpful staff. Convenient parking. In all you will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always nice to read such great comments about our hotel and staff.
I am glad that you found our new beds comfortable and enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. I will be sure to post your review for our staff to read.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Austin area.


Sincerely,
Pamela Willingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    86
    66
    41
    36
See reviews for
83
65
44
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is actually one of the nicest Red Roof Inns we have stayed at. We are big fans of RRI because of their pet policy, although we didn't have our dogs with us on this trip. This inn is a "big city" Red Roof Inn and is a multi-story hotel, very likely remodeled after being taken over from another chain. The only problem we had was that we arrived early and so the housekeepers had not fully supplied our room with linens and while they did bring some hand towels to the room, it never got fully supplied. Nevertheless we found it very comfortable and enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway, as it is a little noisy although the noise insulation is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We strive to provide the best possible service to each of our guests.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Austin area.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The remodel is great but why skimp and leave OLD showers??? The rooms are very spacious and the staff are all absolutely wonderful.

I would stay at this property again if they fixed the SLLOOOOOWWWW draining tubs. Nothing is worse than standing in dirty water.

The noise from 35 is a little annoying but if you keep the fan on it isn't unbearable. Also, the hardwood floors

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Adam J,

Thanks for staying with us, and we appreciate your review. I am glad you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms and the hardwood style floors. i am glad the room was nice and spacious and the staff was great, I will definitely share these kind comments with the staff as we work very hard to take good care of our guests and appreciate when those efforts are recognized. We did complete a major renovation here, however our showers have been in great shape and are not old so we were able to continue using them. If there was an issue with yours, I do sincerely apologize. This isn't common here and we have staff on property who can fix this easily. If you want to contact me with the details of the room you were in, we can address it faster. Our housekeeping or maintenance team may have already addressed this during room inspections, or if you informed us during your stay. We do appreciate you choosing us, and hope you stay with us when your travels bring you back to Austin.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla
Red Roof Inn - Austin South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent sleepless night because of noise from machine room next door. Called reception twice and they quiet ended it but it started up again. something to do with the sprinkler system.They said it was a fault and would be fixed but in case this is not so suggest that you avoid room 124 . No breakfast available here at all. Disappointing stay to say the best!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid Rommel 124 Next to machine room,!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Liz L,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review, and with all the places you could have chosen... we appreciate you picked us to stay with. I am truly sorry for any noise interruptions during your stay and I want you to know that at Red Roof we offer a 100% Hassle Free Guarantee. If you have an issue during your stay, contact the Front Desk, if they cannot fix it... that night is on us. If this wasn't the case here, please do contact us and we promise to make things right. I can assure you this is not a normal or reoccurring issue here, and we appreciate your feedback so we can fix things moving forward. Again, thanks for taking the time to review us, staying with us, and we hope you allow us to fix this situation and come back so you can see what a nice place Red Roof Inns really area.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla
Red Roof Inn - Austin South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The woman working the counter was outstanding. The rooms are modern and clean, and the beds are amazing. My only complaint is I wanted to sign up for the RediCard after I had already checked out, but the gentleman working the counter at that time advised the two nights I had just stayed would not be applied to the card because I had already checked out a couple hours prior. Seems a little silly, but I plan to give customer service a call about that one.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Old E,

Thanks for staying with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I am really glad you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms, and we look forward to rolling out even more cool features in the coming weeks. I do apologize for the confusion with our RediCard program sign up, and can assure you that we can apply credit for those 2 nights, if you haven't already resolved this, please contact us for help. RediCard is definitely the easiest way to get free nights fast and other perks like bottled water at check in and later courtesy holds for reservations. Again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Mike Ciulla
Red Roof Inn - Austin South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stay at this hotel because it's convenient and inexpensive. I've never had a bad experience here at all. The rooms are clean, it's well designed and the location is excellent. Pretty common, but what sets it apart is the level of service. Every business I go to nowadays seems like they could care less and the level of service plain sucks. Not here though. And I wouldn't write a review based solely on the customer service, but the last two times I've been here the front desk clerk Valerie has just made the experience that much better. She's so pleasant and always smiling. She has always made me feel welcome and done everything she could to make sure I was taken care of. She's not the only one, but her level of service should be acknowledged. It's nice to know that customer service still matters at some businesses.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madamstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice comment about our staff member Valerie. I will definitely make sure to share your feedback with her. We are proud to provide great service and comfortable clean accommodations in our newly renovated property. We hope you enjoyed the flat screen television and free wifi while you were here. Think of us again when you return to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is my second time staying in Red Roof property in different location. They never fail to impress for cleanliness and friendly counter staff. What I wish for is good wifi strength and breakfast although they do provide just coffee and tea all dat at the reception. No gym or restaurant but they do outsource food delivery.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earthling2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment in your day to post your comments about your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback from valued guests like yourself. Please know that we are working on improving our wifi system even more so after our renovations and hope you have a chance to experience the better service when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 203 in Austin
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Courtyard Austin South
#78 of 203 in Austin
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Address: 4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#71 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to I-35, SR-71 and South Congress Ave (SoCo) shopping district. The Red Roof Inn Austin is conveniently located near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), University of Texas-Austin, Southwest Texas State University and St. Edward's University. This hotel is also near the Texas State Capitol, Lyndon B. Johnson Memorial Library, Texas Memorial Stadium, Krieg Field and Palmer Auditorium.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South with free WiFi, suites, an outdoor heated pool, in-room safes, elevators, interior corridors, and more. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin - University Of Texas Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing