We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Ranked #102 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great value, clean rooms”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and three of my girl friends stayed here for a weekend out, which happened to be during a huge UT game. While other mid-range places were charging upwards of $200 a night, this spot was about $80. INCREDIBLE deal. Newly remodeled rooms with a hard floor, friendly staff, and about 3 miles outside of downtown for cheap cab rides. Overall, just a really good all around experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xAngelaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! My team and I are very pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your stay. Our recently renovated property was done for valued guests like yourself who appreciate clean contemporary decor featuring hardfloor floors and flat screen tv's as well as comfortable new beds and modern european styled baths.

We are very pleased that our Red Roof Inn earned your kudos and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another girls weekend here in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    83
    62
    40
    31
See reviews for
78
62
42
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this RRI for the weekend. Sharief was the gentleman working the front desk and we can't state enough what a great customer service we received from him. From the moment we checked in, he went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. He was very friendly, extended our checkout by 1 hour and when we complained about the loud tv coming from the next door room, he promptly corrected the disturbance. During my lifetime I've had the chance to stay at some well known 5 star hotels, and even then I have not received such a great customer service! Tell Sharief to keep up the great work and perhaps, give him a well-deserved raise!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola8886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here, We truly appreciate the nice things you've said about us and especially Shareif. We will be sure he is aware of your compliments! We strive to provide the best service and accommodations at our brand new renovated hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I recently stayed in the Red Roof Inn south for an entire week. The front desk staff was wonderful and rooms were very clean and comfortable. I was greeted with smiling faces every time I went to the front desk and when checking out. Sabrina was very helpful in the morning and Tammi was excellent as well. The security was on site 24 hours and made their presence know but watching everyone.
I will return to this hotel again.

cons: Hotel walls are thin and I could hear other people when walking by the front door. Weekends were busy but never a problem with any hotel amenities.

Room Tip: pool is very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamont S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback and happy that you enjoyed staying at our newly renovated property. Our staff will be thrilled that you mentioned them in your review and I will ensure they are aware of your compliments. Best Regards and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived to the inn late at night. The staff were friendly even at the time. When we opened the door to our room, it didn't smell bad, but it didn't smell that great either. Turned on the lights, one of the beds weren't made completely (suspicious... Good thing we bring our own sheets). The beds were comfortable though. The renovations made the room clean. The air conditioning was loud; on and off every 10/15 minutes. The toilets made that loud leaky warning sound all night. Overall, for the price, the inn was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlofgossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us see what our guests experience. We will be addressing the issues you mentioned to prevent another incident like this from occurring again. We strive to ensure our guests are satisfied and comfortable in our brand new rooms and hope that you will return again and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It has been completely remodeled, with finished floors, which makes the room feel 10 times cleaner, than nicer hotels with carpet. It is very up to date & beautiful. Sharieff was very friendly & professional! Anytime we needed anything, they gave it to us right away. The overall stay was great, i would most definetly recommend staying here, it feels just as nice, if not nicer than most expensive hotels. I plan on coming to austin more often & staying here every time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAndraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Greetings and thank you for your very nice comments about our newly renovated inn. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review online and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We drove all night from California and arrived at the Red Roof Inn Austin South at 6 am. I asked if we could check in early even if we had to pay for the room. Sherief said that the earliest a room would be open was @9 am but he would have to clear it with management. We came back at 9 and Sabrina was working the desk, they had a room ready with a key and my name on it. I was so glad to get to check in early at no cost and the customer service was some of the best customer service that I have ever had at a hotel. Ill definitely stay at a RRI again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review online. I am ecstatic to hear of how well our staff took care of your needs. We strive to provide the best service and accommodations at an affordable price and our newly renovated rooms add extra value to the mix. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you very soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a Sunday noon meeting with my association and was just going to drive up that morning but a the weekend approached decided I'd see if I could get a decent rate/room via Priceline. I got the Red Roof Inn Austin South and was happy as I had stayed there a couple times in the past. I got a deluxe king room, newly remodeled with laminate floor, Euro-style fixtures, spacious with desk area also.
I think the RRI is much nicer than its star rating implies, and folks that don't like it need to spend more if they're not happy. For a very reasonable rate, I got a nice room, good wifi, free parking right outside the door, and courteous and helpful service from the front desk.
My only negatives are that my room on the highway side is a bit noisy, but I'm a sound sleeper so no biggie. It's also right on the feeder street of I-35 but the exits/intersections are far apart on that stretch, so getting to the hotel requires some backtracking.
I would stay there again and suggest to anyone looking for budget accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#55 of 199 in Austin
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Address: 4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#71 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to I-35, SR-71 and South Congress Ave (SoCo) shopping district. The Red Roof Inn Austin is conveniently located near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), University of Texas-Austin, Southwest Texas State University and St. Edward's University. This hotel is also near the Texas State Capitol, Lyndon B. Johnson Memorial Library, Texas Memorial Stadium, Krieg Field and Palmer Auditorium.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South with free WiFi, suites, an outdoor heated pool, in-room safes, elevators, interior corridors, and more. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin - University Of Texas Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing