We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but in a disgusting way”
Review of Gourdough's

Gourdough's
Ranked #1 of 98 Dessert in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious, but in a disgusting way”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The donuts are huge, and they're covered in way too much sweet stuff. This is something to eat when you're high or not quite drunk. Not what you want when you just need a bite for breakfast. I'd have ordered sugar and cinnamon if I knew what I was getting.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    131
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy Fatty Doughnut”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I know I had probably the most boring doughnut... the naughty and nice! However there is no better combo than cinnamon and sugar! Amazing doughnut and charming trailer!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I like to stop at Gordoughs whenever we're in town because they never fail to please. The donuts are huge and delicious! I prefer the strawberry shortcake (Miss Shortcake) because I find it to be less rich than most of the other options. My son loves the simple cinnamon and sugar (Naughty & Nice). The trailer is in a small lot so be prepared to hunt for parking. Seating is at picnic tables set in the lot and shared by the other trailers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super good donut.But price is too much. $5 jusg for a donut , more money if u want add something on top .”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went there twice. still love it. should try with bacon or creamcheese. prepared will be around $6 each and it always a long line wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank congchihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“A-mazing donuts!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Gordough's is a fairly big food truck located in a parking lot. The menu consists of a bunch of combinations of glaze and toppings for donuts and they are exceptional. I tried the bacon topped one and loved it. What isn't to love about giant strips of crispy bacon glazed onto a delicious fresh baked donut? It was honestly enough for an entire meal. My wife tried the honey and chicken finger toped one and similarly enjoyed it.

It was so rich that I don't think I could eat it again for quite some time, certainly not every day, but it was a great stop for a tourist in town.

Definitely worth the detour to experience this unique cuisine in Austin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourdough's also viewed

 

Been to Gourdough's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing