We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first choice”
Review of Annie's Cafe & Bar

Annie's Cafe & Bar
Ranked #119 of 3,727 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Mn
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not my first choice”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Service was poor. Seated ourselves. It was not busy when we arrived but noone came to serve us. My husband finally went up to the unmanned waiter's station to get a menu, which was good as then when our server finally came we could order before he left again. As it was, we still got our food later than surrounding tables who ordered after us. My husband got the hamburger which was incredibly thick. He said it was good but didn't brag about it. My Roast Chicken dinner was actually quite good. The chicken was flavorful all the way through and the gravy was excellent. The green beans however were inedible. They took al dente to a new level. Would not have eaten here if the Italian place across the street had not been full. Nor would I eat here again despite the good food. The service was just unacceptable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank amismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    103
    47
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton WA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I am in Austin a lot for buiness (used to live there) so finding somewhere that doesn't cost an arm and a leg for lunch is always a good thing. The variety is great, soups , sandwiches salads etc. it's very fresh and enjoyable. The only negative is that it is a little confusing when you get there if you aren't a regular of how to order and what combos are available. Other than that the food has been very consistant .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilysMum0723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
485 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Poor breakfast”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently had breakfast with my wife and daughter at Annies after hearing good things about the restaurant, albeit mostly about dinner. Unfortunately, the breakfast was very poor and certainly did not compare favorably with our favorites in Austin. The Farmers Omelette was stuffed with potatoes and then inexplicably, came with a huge (over sized) side order of home fries....potatoe overload. The Full English Breakfast was okay as far as the eggs went, but the bacon was greasy, limp, and had a very bad taste. The French Toast was probably the best of the meals, but did not stand out as special. The service was good, but could not overcome the poor quality of the meals.

There are many wonderful places in Austin for standard breakfast meals and several others with very unique/special breakfast meals that stand out. We will not be returning to Annies for breakfast, but will not close the door on trying them for dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustycat83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency and was looking for a Sunday breakfast away from the hotel. We walked across the bridge along Congress and discovered Annie's. The interior is very trendy and up-beat and it looks like a great place to come to for dinner, too. The breakfast selection was varied and the service was attentive. Good food and served hot. Coffee and water refills were timely. We will return next time we're in Austin.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turn of Century Building Now Annie's”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I immediately loved the turn of the century building on Austin's oldest thoroughfare leading up to the state capitol. Gigantic ceilings as you approach through the antique doors. Huge spaces and subdued decorating lends at old school atmosphere. Full bar and brick fired oven and some of the best Chicken Schnitzel I have ever had! Nice wine list and comfortable seating. Attentive staff and an all around joy of a place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie's Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Annie's Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing