We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Treat yourself, stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gateway Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 41 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Treat yourself, stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wow! I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs over the years, and the Gateway Guesthouse is definitely one of my favorites. Everything is just perfect--the accommodations are lovely (and uber clean), the inn keepers are warm and welcoming, and well, I can't tell you how wonderful breakfasts are--you just have to experience them for yourself. Do yourself a favor and stay here if your travels take you to Austin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you two here with us and enjoy some quiet after your busy weekend! We look forward to seeing you again!
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
98
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just visited Gateway Guesthouse last weekend and everything was perfect. The breakfasts were so delicious and the master suite was spacious and relaxing, with my own private patio! The poolside lounge area is very Zen. I will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayeH575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We so enjoyed having you stay here with us and loved that you had "the best breakfast of my life" and then the "second best breakfast of my life" while here! We hope to see you again very soon!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Gateway Guesthouse is the best B&B I've ever stayed in for a number of reasons. Bess and Blaise who run it, are two of the nicest, friendliest and loveliest people I've ever had the pleasure in meeting. The room was amazing and cleaned every day. The whole house is beautiful and the garden is great too. There's two gorgeous dogs there as well! I only have one complaint - and that's having to have a normal breakfast after 10 days of Bess' breakfasts is somewhat upsetting! The breakfast is the best thing ever and I didn't miss a single one, even if I'd only had 3 hours sleep. To sum it up, it felt like I was home even though my actual home is thousands of miles away. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickledJhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Jhon, thank you so much for the review. It was a joy to have you here with us and we can't wait to see you again in a year. And thank you for trying, very hard, to get us into this decade with twittering, or is it tweettering, and instagraming......
Yow!
Be well and have a super year!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a genuinely wonderful experience at Gateway Guesthouse... Such a beautiful property. Very zen and serene and perfectly located to downtown and SoCo areas.

Bess and Blaise were the perfect hosts and made sure all our needs were met. And, breakfasts were absolutely the best part of the day. You can tell breakfasts were made daily with love.

I can't wait to return and enjoy the property without any SXSW obligations and just relax with the dogs and enjoy more of the pool and sunshine.

Thank you Bess and Blaise for making me feel at home. You're both so very gracious and sweet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatzoConPollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so much. It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we'll look forward to seeing you again for some R&R.
All the best,
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Austin which we loved and a key component to why we loved the trip so much was our stay at this gem of a B&B. Blaise (Innkeeper) and Bess (Chef) are wonderful hosts with phenomenal recommendations where the locals go! It helps to like dogs when visiting this establishment because they (Louie and Leo) will probably like you and aren't afraid to show it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Loft and the stairs are as steep as is warned on the Gateway web page; very nice ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeview60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We always try to let folks know the Loft is a 'climb'. We are super glad you have enjoyed both your stays with us and can't wait to see you again!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My sister, her BFF and I met from opposite ends of the country in Austin to enjoy a weekend in warm weather mid January. We had great rooms, everything we could have wanted was provided. We enjoyed 2 cooking classes with Bess: Knife Skills and Boning Basics, with opportunities for hands-on practice as well as good information. Bess' motto is "Love People - Feed Them Tasty Food" - and she does! Her breakfasts are legendary. Blaise believes "if you're a Bed and Breakfast, you'd better do at least 2 things well!" All the thoughtful touches in the rooms and throughout the house demonstrate Blaise's idea of relaxed comfort. And both of them believe in quality in all they do. Coffee on the covered porch in the morning, lounging by the pool, or a dip in the hot tub before bed, wrapped in luxurious robes - delicious. And easy public transport into town for dining, shopping, music, sightseeing, etc. Can't miss with this spot in Austin.

Room Tip: I'll stay in the Master Suite next time - like a private apartment! Or perhaps the loft, with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisienne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed both your stay and cooking class with us. It was a true pleasure to have you here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Gateway Guesthouse is our current go-to B&B in Austin. Very high quality and delicious breakfast. And the Beds are super comfortable. Our favorite room is the Master Retreat because its huge and nicely furnished. We have also stayed in the loft and found it very cozy and warm. But beware the stairs are steep. For those who are interested in experiencing downtown, on our last visit we took the 7 bus, which picks up across the street, into downtown and spent the evening on 6th street. After a night of drinking we took a very short taxi ride back to the Guesthouse and were very pleased that we did not have to drive our car into downtown traffic, or drink and drive. Also, my husband enjoys swimming in Big Stacy in the mornings, it is a natural spring fed swimming pool, only a 5 minute walk away. We will continue to come back to the Guesthouse and fully recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Master retreat is huge and lovely. Loft is smaller but very cozy. Beware the steep steps in the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much for joining us again and for your kind words. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#10 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
The Driskill
#23 of 198 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
South Congress Hotel
#19 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#48 of 198 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#1 of 41 in Austin
5.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Property: Gateway Guesthouse
Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704-1333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing