We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian for you, cowboy. Capisce?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quattro Gatti

Quattro Gatti
Reserve with OpenTable
Quattro Gatti is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open to the general public. Extensively reviewed on UrbanSpoon and others. Should be posted here too.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
240 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Italian for you, cowboy. Capisce?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The last place you expect it...yes indeed, a great, and quirky, Italian restaurant in the heart of Texas!

You probably figured out that the name means "four cats." You may not have figured out that there are other Quattro Gatti in Rome and NYC. If this was not an Italian restaurant, then that might be the end of the story. But, of course, it isn't here.

Don't ask the chef about this until you've had some of his homemade breads.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    9
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Favorite Downtown Place...Near the Capitol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

A two block walk from the State Capitol. Not a chain. Run by an Italian guy who's usually there. Relaxed and not stuffy. A few outside tables. And a few daily specials.

The wine list is not too grand but enough choice in price and type. I love the spinach salad and veal dishes, and had a special of bistec with a tomato sauce.

I've been ten times and never had a bad meal or experience. On the occasions when it was full, we just ate at the bar.

Unpretentious, personal, nice servers who are not overbearing but attentive. This is now my favorite place in Austin.....but I'm easy to please, I admit, if a place is understated with decent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Oasis in a sea of bedlam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

At the height of the SXSW festival and on the main road through downtown Austin, this place could have been very busy.
It wasnt. We arrived around 1800hrs and the place was lively but not too congested. We were offered seats inside or outside and elected to sit in on what had been a hot spring day.
Service was prompt and efficient. The meals tasty and filling.
I opted for minestrone soup and Cotoletta alla Parmigiana which I really enjoyed, the chicken being of a decent size.
My wife had a pizza as her main dish and is was a tad soggy, way too much bolognese sauce.
Be warned, the proprietors will ply you with plenty of bread and olive oil to wash down the pre meal wine or peroni and this may bag you up for meal ahead, as my wife will testify!
I liked the atmosphere and have to say that this is one of the better eateries I have experienced in Austin. It almost feels Italian!
Its not the cheapest of places to enjoy a night out but was well worth the cost.
.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blueangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good italian food, very nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Being european, I went many time in Italy and ate there lot of times. The food in this restaurant is really closed to what you would eat in Italy. The pizza are very good as well as the selection of wine.
The service is excellent. The waistress are pleasant and really helpfull.
I recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissTibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
505 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A Quaint front, Good Solid Trattoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A remodel of an old store front, wonderful lunch menu not too pretentious, rapid service for the hill crowd wonderful tastes and textures. Ravioli was particulalry admired, pizz was excellent, Calzone a little blackened from the oven, overall a great experience and rapid service for 9 outside on a busy lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hobietim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quattro Gatti also viewed

 

Been to Quattro Gatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing