We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Bullock Texas State History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Austin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #4 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tuscaloosa AL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most of what we saw was re-creations, other than some papers and weapons, It's a nice building, and helpful people working there, but the exhibits were disappointing.

Next day I saw a separate buillding a few blocks away, the state Archives. I wondered if they had exhibits, but didn't go in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,306
    570
    129
    35
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting Review of Texas History”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Now I know why Texans resist any government influence - it goes further back than the Alamo! Austin and Santa Anna, even Davy Crockett are included.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pammft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
355 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved it. Very well organized and the historical flow of information is displayed in an informative and entertaining fashion. Excellent artifacts from each era with concise informative explanations. We had not planned visiting, but when a local friend urged us to check it out, we added it to our day and really enjoyed it. PS go to the IMAX and see whatever is playing, you'll love it too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A nice way to learn Texas history.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends from Austin took us here. It is a lovely museum and does a great job of conveying Texas history. The movie Star of Destiny is well worth the extra fee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Totally Texas!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even if you aren't enthusiastic about museums, you will LOVE this place. Everything Texas kitsch is in there from Cadillacs to NASA artifacts. The exhibits change so even on a second visit, I saw new things. The store is awesome for souvenirs, including the Homesick Texan Cookbook. And don't miss the chocolate bars wrapped as tamales! They were favorites with my crew.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing