We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.95*
and up
Austin Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #4 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Permanent collection tells the "story of Texas" in an engaging and informative way, and presents a more nuanced account than Texas history as just about the Alamo. The special exhibits cover a wide variety of fascinating topics. Adult programs are awesome!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ethornbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    554
    124
    33
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Verdi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Even good for a non-Texan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This museum is laid out really well and there is much to see. Don't miss the movie with sound and movement effects. I startled at the rattle snakes which moved my seat! I still remember taking Texas History in high school and there was so much more here (even my "Yankee" husband enjoyed it!).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pkh315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Make Sure and See an IMAX Movie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not the first time I have been to this museum and it will not be my last! Love that the exhibits change and so do the IMAX movies. I have seen several movies and I learn something new every time. Walking through the museum is relaxing and educational.

They do have special events here. This time was the Austin Rodeo's auction. It was also very busy with school groups and visitors.

The gift shop has lots of fun and educational items and the cafeteria is very good with a variety of options!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ang126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome IMAX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We only had a chance to visit the IMAX, so we need to return. We found street parking right at the back of the building and the area is well kept. Wish we had more time, very friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank txcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Texas education”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Easy to get to, parking available, and very educational. My wife, grandkids and I have been a couple of times and have enjoyed the visits.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing