We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mighty good cone” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mighty Cone

The Mighty Cone
Ranked #668 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A mighty good cone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Mighty Cone is one of my favorite food trucks in Austin (so far - there are so many that a girl can hardly keep up!). I've had the crunchy chicken and avocado cone at least twice and it hasn't disappointed me yet. The breading is light but flavorful and the chipotle mayo is divine. The coleslaw that serves as the base is equally delicious. Their location is now off Rio Grande near campus in the new Co-op Food Court. Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tallgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Loved the flavor. I had the hot & crunchy chicken cone which is basically chicken served in a paper cone with coleslaw. The sauce was fantastic, with a slight spice to it and was very filling. Would go again, it's definitely a must-try if you're doing the food truck rounds. This was at the Rio Grande food court which had a nice atmosphere, with dining tables and lit up with hanging lights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phil7101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Addictive & YUMMY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Such interesting & addictive light coating that they put on their chicken, shrimp & Avacado that I crave between visits. Check it out & try the fried pickles - awesome!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AustinTikiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband had tried the chicken cone at ACL a few years back and raved about it. I had to try it when I got to Austin and it was really good. I didn't know quite how to eat it, its pretty interesting! We both got the deluxe chicken and avocado cone. It's a food truck and the picnic tables have special holders for your cones. The service was very nice and the cone was delicious, as were the fries!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank allie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best taco in Austin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The fried avocado taco rocks my face off! and the homemade ketchup. anytime I even drive near Austin I demand we always stop there, and the other people in my party never seem to mind after they have eatten one of those amazing tacos!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley44115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mighty Cone also viewed

 

Been to The Mighty Cone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing