We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place in Austin”

BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown
Ranked #88 of 4,310 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Come visit and experience the true feel of Ireland and the "Craic"(Fellowship and Fun) of your own local Irish Pub, in the heart of Austin's 6th Street Entertainment District. B.D. Riley's is not part of some national chain-for almost 15 years we've been a locally-owned, friendly, neighborhood pub restaurant serving a wide variety of award-winning foods, perfect pints of your favorite brews, great live music and the kind of crowd that always ensures a good time. C'mon in to the pub-make some new friends! If you are looking for a pub to call your own, look no further. The "formula" is pretty simple: serve good food and perfect pints in a traditional pub environment with a friendly staff, and season the mix with a healthy measure of cool live music featuring exclusively local Austin Artists. The result is a classic, classy neighborhood Pub. It's your own little patch of Irish comfort-on 6th Street! We'd really like to be your local pub on 6th Street. The Pub itself is a showplace (and our history is impressive). Every day is a good day to visit-we're open 365 days a year. Our Calendar always has the latest news and events, like televised sports, our prize-filled Pub Quiz trivia night, Live Music 7 nights a week with no cover charge, including each Wednesday after Trivia, a Sunday Irish Tune Session, and much more. Check out the additional pages linked above to learn more about the Pub, take a "tour," view our offerings, and learn about upcoming activities
Reviewed May 30, 2014

B.D. Riley's is an authentic Irish Pub, with delicious food and the pecan porter we love so much. It's atmosphere is fun with musical entertainment and also they have a trivia night.

Date of visit: May 2014
Thank ellenjellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Glad you have made us your favorite Pub. Know that we will work hard to maintain that status.
Introduce your self to an Owner next time in the Pub, as there is a partner on site 90% of the time.
We would like to personally thank you for your loyalty.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ate with a crew of eight and the service was a bit slow even for Austin (yes, we are northerners who expect a faster pace). After ordering, took about a half hour for the server to let us know that they were out of feta -- ingredient in four of our orders. Drinks were OK. Food was decent but nothing particularly Irish unless you count the bangers and mash (which isn't). SoCo salad was interesting. No music when we were there so that might have influenced a bit. But overall average food at OK prices.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Disappointed to hear of your experience with us.
Please ask for a Manager anytime you feel we have not provided the expected service.
We strive hard to please, and will do what is necessary to satisfy.
Again, my apologies for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was my first meal in Austin. I went with the fajita tacos and a Thirsty Goat amber ale to drink. The bartender was very friendly. The food was outstanding, and filling. And the open-air feel created a really nice breeze on a hot day. I would go again.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 532markm532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Mark
Welcome to Austin.......and thanks for taking time to review your experience at our locally owned Pub. We appreciate the kind words, and are glad we were able to start your Austin adventure off with a pleasant experience.
Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We do our own self-guided walking tours in most of the cities we visit. Of course we always plan too much and end up foot sore and dirt tired by the time we're done. We parked on E. 6th St. just west of Trinity St. in downtown Austin. Our first steps reminded us of being in Ireland...we even commented about them not having anything on Austin...a pub at every doorway! After several hours of touring and a shopping stint in "Wild About Music" (my next review) we stopped into B. D. Riley's Irish Pub. What a fantastic relaxing experience. A gentleman was playing the guitar and singing. We sat at the bar in comfortable chairs and downed a few beers while chatting with our friendly waitress. Great atmosphere, fun company and good music. Restrooms were super clean too.

Date of visit: April 2014
Thank Denver_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thanks for dropping by our little Pub, and for the complimentary review as well.
Your description of your experience is encouraging, as it reflects our every day goal of providing a friendly, comfortable place to enjoy old and new friends.
Thanks for taking the time to share.......
Cheers
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Waling down East 6th Street in Austin, on a Friday night, is like walking down Duval Street in Key West. Bar after bar, music blaring, guys on the sidewalk hawk cheap booze... However, walking past B.D. Riley's, we heard some really good R&B warmup sounds, stood by the open window and spoke to the guitar player. Decided to wait outside until the band actually started playing (Austin, notorious for great music, is the reason for my going to E. 6th to find something more than bad country, blues or rock and roll). At the opening chord, I knew this was where I wanted us to sit and listen for a while. The waitress was prompt, efficient and didn't mind that we were there for a drink or two and nothing more.

The band, Ulrich Ellison and Tribe (Ellison and his wife, playing bass, were from Austria, the drummer from Mexico and never did find out where the keyboard was from) kept us there for several hours.

Most significant was the fact that we weren't pushed into the menu (we had eaten elsewhere, earlier {see my Easy Tiger review} and couldn't stuff another morsel down our throats). Going back to B.D. Riley's on my next trip to Austin is a sure thing. I owe them a dinner for letting us listen to great blues and R&B... Great Austin hospitality.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Stephen K
Thanks for the kind words.
We are very proud to be located in "The Live Music Capital of the World", and contribute to that title by providing 10 live music shows per week, from a variety of music genres, never charging a cover charge. I'm glad you were able to enjoy one of those performances.
As you promised, drop by next visit to our city, as you are now one of our "Regulars"!
Cheers
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown also viewed

 

Been to BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing