We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BD Riley's Irish Pub

BD Riley's Irish Pub
Ranked #74 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Come visit and experience the true feel of Ireland and the "Craic"(Fellowship and Fun) of your own local Irish Pub, in the heart of Austin's 6th Street Entertainment District. B.D. Riley's is not part of some national chain-for almost 15 years we've been a locally-owned, friendly, neighborhood pub restaurant serving a wide variety of award-winning foods, perfect pints of your favorite brews, great live music and the kind of crowd that always ensures a good time. C'mon in to the pub-make some new friends! If you are looking for a pub to call your own, look no further. The "formula" is pretty simple: serve good food and perfect pints in a traditional pub environment with a friendly staff, and season the mix with a healthy measure of cool live music featuring exclusively local Austin Artists. The result is a classic, classy neighborhood Pub. It's your own little patch of Irish comfort-on 6th Street! We'd really like to be your local pub on 6th Street. The Pub itself is a showplace (and our history is impressive). Every day is a good day to visit-we're open 365 days a year. Our Calendar always has the latest news and events, like televised sports, our prize-filled Pub Quiz trivia night, Live Music 7 nights a week with no cover charge, including each Wednesday after Trivia, a Sunday Irish Tune Session, and much more. Check out the additional pages linked above to learn more about the Pub, take a "tour," view our offerings, and learn about upcoming activities
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was my first meal in Austin. I went with the fajita tacos and a Thirsty Goat amber ale to drink. The bartender was very friendly. The food was outstanding, and filling. And the open-air feel created a really nice breeze on a hot day. I would go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Mark
Welcome to Austin.......and thanks for taking time to review your experience at our locally owned Pub. We appreciate the kind words, and are glad we were able to start your Austin adventure off with a pleasant experience.
Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    86
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Irish Oasis in the Middle of Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We do our own self-guided walking tours in most of the cities we visit. Of course we always plan too much and end up foot sore and dirt tired by the time we're done. We parked on E. 6th St. just west of Trinity St. in downtown Austin. Our first steps reminded us of being in Ireland...we even commented about them not having anything on Austin...a pub at every doorway! After several hours of touring and a shopping stint in "Wild About Music" (my next review) we stopped into B. D. Riley's Irish Pub. What a fantastic relaxing experience. A gentleman was playing the guitar and singing. We sat at the bar in comfortable chairs and downed a few beers while chatting with our friendly waitress. Great atmosphere, fun company and good music. Restrooms were super clean too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denver_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for dropping by our little Pub, and for the complimentary review as well.
Your description of your experience is encouraging, as it reflects our every day goal of providing a friendly, comfortable place to enjoy old and new friends.
Thanks for taking the time to share.......
Cheers
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The music got me...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Waling down East 6th Street in Austin, on a Friday night, is like walking down Duval Street in Key West. Bar after bar, music blaring, guys on the sidewalk hawk cheap booze... However, walking past B.D. Riley's, we heard some really good R&B warmup sounds, stood by the open window and spoke to the guitar player. Decided to wait outside until the band actually started playing (Austin, notorious for great music, is the reason for my going to E. 6th to find something more than bad country, blues or rock and roll). At the opening chord, I knew this was where I wanted us to sit and listen for a while. The waitress was prompt, efficient and didn't mind that we were there for a drink or two and nothing more.

The band, Ulrich Ellison and Tribe (Ellison and his wife, playing bass, were from Austria, the drummer from Mexico and never did find out where the keyboard was from) kept us there for several hours.

Most significant was the fact that we weren't pushed into the menu (we had eaten elsewhere, earlier {see my Easy Tiger review} and couldn't stuff another morsel down our throats). Going back to B.D. Riley's on my next trip to Austin is a sure thing. I owe them a dinner for letting us listen to great blues and R&B... Great Austin hospitality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Stephen K
Thanks for the kind words.
We are very proud to be located in "The Live Music Capital of the World", and contribute to that title by providing 10 live music shows per week, from a variety of music genres, never charging a cover charge. I'm glad you were able to enjoy one of those performances.
As you promised, drop by next visit to our city, as you are now one of our "Regulars"!
Cheers
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
846 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“St. Paddy's Day Well Done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

On a tour of this great State we happened to land in Austin on St. Patrick's day and of course made a point of seeking out an Irish pub. B. D. Riley's more than fit the bill! Having been to one or two (OK too many to mention really) Irish Pubs, a thought comes to mind. Quoting an Irish travel companion when we were standing outside an Irish pub in a beach town in Thailand, she said : "We Irish are not taking over the world by invasion but by infestation!" Point is one can be anywhere on the planet and can find refuge and friendliness and hospitality in the local Irish pub and thank goodness for that. And thank B. D. Riley's for maintaining this wonderful legacy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are delighted your travels took you to Austin, and to our little pub on St. patrick's Day. Thanks for sharing your kind words and your photographs. We are so happy to provide the comfort and familiarity that an Irish pub brings to any town, and glad you enjoyed ours. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Makes you feel like your in the old country! Love this place! The atmosphere is great and the food is great. Warms the heart and makes you want to sing and drink!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Your kind review means a lot to us, as you hit on exactly what we have been aiming for these past 14 years--creating a bit of Ireland's fine pub tradition here in the heart of Austin. Thank you for your business, and for sharing your fine review. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BD Riley's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing