We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and great staff”

BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown
Ranked #77 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Come visit and experience the true feel of Ireland and the "Craic"(Fellowship and Fun) of your own local Irish Pub, in the heart of Austin's 6th Street Entertainment District. B.D. Riley's is not part of some national chain-for almost 15 years we've been a locally-owned, friendly, neighborhood pub restaurant serving a wide variety of award-winning foods, perfect pints of your favorite brews, great live music and the kind of crowd that always ensures a good time. C'mon in to the pub-make some new friends! If you are looking for a pub to call your own, look no further. The "formula" is pretty simple: serve good food and perfect pints in a traditional pub environment with a friendly staff, and season the mix with a healthy measure of cool live music featuring exclusively local Austin Artists. The result is a classic, classy neighborhood Pub. It's your own little patch of Irish comfort-on 6th Street! We'd really like to be your local pub on 6th Street. The Pub itself is a showplace (and our history is impressive). Every day is a good day to visit-we're open 365 days a year. Our Calendar always has the latest news and events, like televised sports, our prize-filled Pub Quiz trivia night, Live Music 7 nights a week with no cover charge, including each Wednesday after Trivia, a Sunday Irish Tune Session, and much more. Check out the additional pages linked above to learn more about the Pub, take a "tour," view our offerings, and learn about upcoming activities
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great staff”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was very impressed with this establishment. They have the usual (Guinness, Smithwicks) and some local Austin brews. I was most impressed with the food. I had the Corned Beef and Cabbage and it was some of the best bar food I've had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your visit and for your kind review. We are happy you found us, and especially glad you tried our Corned Beef. Every day as our special corned beef brisket simmers on the stove for hours I think that if we could just capture that aroma we could make a side business selling kitchen air freshener! Glad you enjoyed your meal--please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    92
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere---outstanding service---a fun place to be!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The highlight to an otherwise rather dismal Austin trip (see my review for The Driskill Hotel) was this delightful Irish Pub that's been an Austin favorite for as long as I can remember. The bartender created a special Irish Coffee for me that was out of this world. Though it was busy, everyone received their orders promptly and as requested. Thanks for a memorable time Riley's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonna2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We're happy to have been a highlight of your trip to Austin, and we are delighted you enjoyed our traditional Irish Coffee. Thanks for visiting and for sharing your review. We hope you will stop in again when you travel to Austin. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Irish bar”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well they had Kilkenny beer so that had to be a good start, and it was one of the best pints I have had in a long time. Food was excellent, although Irish Chips--umm- not to a brit anyway- still good effort.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
A cool pint of Kilkenny has brought many a smile to the lips of our pub guests--we are glad you enjoyed yours. Thanks for visiting, and for sharing your review. Your feedback is important to us and to our staff. Please stop in anytime you are in Austin--we are open every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pecan Street Festival Stop”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We decided to make this a cooling off stop during the Pecan St Festival based on our stop the previous festival and are glad we did. Although it was jammed with festival goers our server was very efficient and friendly. We opted for wings and were very pleased that their sauce was not some wimpy little dressing but spicy and tangy. We enjoyed the live music as well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trishtci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review--your feedback is important to us, and we share all our reviews with our staff. Wings may not be typically Irish, but we love ours, and we're glad you did too. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geovest@aol.com
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Austin Irish on 6th Street”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is an Austin Insider's Bar. The Guinness is nitro and poured just right. John is the owner and his wait staff are exemplary. A must stop when on 6th Street!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank scooterpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B, Manager at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to share your thoughts with others. We're happy you found our Guinness up to snuff--we are very proud of our pints. Please consider yourself a regular and stop in whenever you're in town. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown also viewed

 

Been to BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing