We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service. Very good food.”
Review of Cantina Laredo - CLOSED

Cantina Laredo
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Colorado & 3rd
Description: gourmet mexican food
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful service. Very good food.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our waiter was friendly and told us about the menu with his own opinions. All food was very good and interesting. Be sure to order guacamole too, they'll make it the way you want right at the table (not hot too very hot).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 466Richard789466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, PA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Margaritas were lacking, but service was great”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The service at Cantina Laredo was really good - my colleague and I ate at the bar, and the bartender was speedy, pleasant, and accommodating. However, she said that the restaurant was known for its margaritas, but they were watery and rather flavorless. I would not recommend them. The flatbread was delicious, and the fish tacos were good, too. I enjoyed the chips and salsa, as well. The location is very convenient. Others have complained about the price, but we were there at happy hour, so I thought the price was just right! I probably would have found the prices a bit high if it were not happy hour. Overall, I'd recommend it, provided you don't want a margarita!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaM313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food in Austin”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Average, by that I mean there are MUCH better Mexican restaurants in town - upscale and down home. In fact, La Condesa is just around the corner and has some of the best food in town. It's fine for a business lunch. The food is good, it just suffers from comparison to other places.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateZ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican food reflected by very high prices and small portions”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I really wanted to like this beautiful restaurant. It promised to deliver upscale food much different than the typical Tex-Mex in this area. The food is distinctive and tastes pretty good. However, the chips and salsa were nothing special and the prices overall were much higher than we felt it was worth.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arizonafoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you are looking for real Mexican,”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Let's talk. Look, if you are downtown and need a Mex fix, there's nothing wrong with this spot. Service and food are fine. It's convenient, pretty quick, welcoming. Is it top 10 Mexican in Austin? Well, no. But if medium Mex is better than no Mex to you-- as it is to me--Laredo is fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texasrambler_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing