We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Truck Eva!”

Austin Eats Food Tours
Ranked #2 of 48 Food & Drink in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Experience quintessential Austin via your taste buds in 3 hours!"We invite you to join us for one of our public/private/corporate food tours, each approximately 3 hours in length and sampling 4-6 local eateries. We'll indulge in the tastiest local eats from chef inspired dishes, to juicy burgers to decadent sweets; and share lots of Austin lore along the way.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Food Truck Eva!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Eric & Liziane Regan, Hey You Gonna Eat or What's food truck is divine. Their signature Monte Cristo Sandwhich is the best I've ever had. We also had the donut dessert which was also to die for. You should not miss this!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug3332013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY/NJ
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“No line for Franklin bar-b-que!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The van tour we were on was only operated for two weekends during the ACL. We started with breakfast tacos (sorry, I don't remember where the guide said they were from). Water, beer and wine were available, although at 10AM most of us waited until we were at Franklin. Although I felt a little guilty not having to wait on line, we also weren't eating there. But we all got to go inside while our order was packed up. I bought a hat here. We all piled back into the van and drove to a truck truck court (Way Down Philly?) is a stop on another tour and since they weren't open yet, we sued their tables. The brisket was excellent, the turkey moist but the skin on the smoked sausages was a little tough. The espresso sauce was wonderful. Next stop was Buzz Mill. I loved this place. Coffee shop, bar, food trailer out back. Nice selection of craft beers. The pork tenderloin, with just a simple du was outstanding. The pulled pork very moist and tasty and the brisket very good. I actually liked it better than Franklin (although Franklin's brisket was better). The cider reduction sauce for the pulled pork was a star. We ended at Sugar Circus in East Austin for dessert. Overall a great day with a fun group.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best food we had in Austin”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Did this on a girl's trip to Austin and it was a blast! Best food we had all trip and Brian (our guide) was an awesome host! Highly recommend anyone living/visiting Austin to take a tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Introduction to a Great Foodie Town!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I found the Austin Eats Food Tour through a recent newspaper article in the Austin American-Statesman about various Austin tours. We had been planning a trip to Austin for several months, and this was an excellent way to get started on exploring the city.

We met our tour guide, Brian, at the Farmer's Market and started with a delicious pastry from Le Patisserie. A breakfast taco from Taco Deli and a decadent chocolate covered cocoa bean (and a great education on the creation of it) at Cocoa Puro were next. We then headed to the Zwick House truck for an amazing French Toast kolache (the basil garnish was an especially nice surprise!).

Brian then transported us via the Austin Eats van to La Barbecue, where we enjoyed circumventing the long line and experiencing ribs, brisket, and sausage from what is arguably one of the best barbecue places in the region. Across the street, handmade potato chips and lobster rolls were waiting for us at Dock & Roll.

We headed to the South Congress area and Burro, a charming and unique venue where delicious sandwiches are served out of a bright yellow shipping container. Burro's take on croque madame, served on sourdough bread, was out of this world!

Our final stop was Sugar Mama's, where we had a difficult time choosing from the day's selection of cupcakes. My choice, The Hemingway, was a key lime cupcake with an incredible cream cheese frosting. My husband's choice, The Apocalypse, was totally a death by chocolate decision. We ended up selecting a variety of cupcakes to take home to friends.

Brian had a selection of beverages for us to enjoy during the tour (both soft drinks and alcoholic choices were offered).

Overall, this was an incredible way for us to enjoy some of the food trucks and Farmer's Market booths with a knowledgeable guide. We never would have found all of these places on our own, and even if we had, it would have been an all-day excursion. At three hours, the tour was unhurried, but still gave us most of the day to explore more of amazing Austin!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mlondon278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heart of gold”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Andy came through with a heart of gold meal delivery to Dell Childrens hospital for friends who were in need of love based only the knowledge that a family was in need of a break from hospital food as they cared for their sweet boy. THANK YOU

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austin Eats Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Austin Eats Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing