We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Retreat”
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
Ranked #19 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
1 review
“A Birthday Retreat”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I stayed here for my birthday and it was a delight! Waiting for me in my room was a delicious chocolate treat and a note from Kristine Huffman, their General Manager, welcoming me and thanking me for choosing to celebrate my birthday at Travaasa. The room was amazing, the staff was incredibly friendly and courteous, the activities were so much fun, and the farm-fresh food was delicious. The spa is gorgeous and it is no wonder that their pool is currently gracing the cover of Texas Monthly! I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a trail room - the balconies are incredible! I also highly recommend the Total Travaasa, so m...
See more room tips
Green Features: Farm-fresh food, organic cotton comforters and linens, toiletries w/ recycled packaging - who knew being environmentally-friendly could be so luxurious?!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear AliceTexas,
Thanks again for choosing Travaasa as the place to celebrate your birthday! We really appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review and I'm glad you had such a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon,
Best wishes,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    108
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
99
323
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were on a road trip and took two nights to sit quietly at Travassa before getting back in the car. The room was large, very comfortable and had a wonderful view of Hill country. The staff was very friendly and helpful at the Inn, the spa and the restaurant. We had two dinners at the restaurant and we were underwhelmed by the food coming out of the kitchen. Order just appetizers and desert and you will be very content.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a high room with a view out over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moncure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Moncure,
Thank you for your review of Travaasa. I am glad that you enjoyed the room and spa, but am concerned that you didn't enjoy your dining experience. If you have a moment, I'd love to hear more about what you found lacking so that I can work with the chef to improve it. Feel free to contact me at kristine.huffman@travaasa.com, or you can call me at 512-258-7243.
All the best to you,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was in desperate need of a retreat and this was the place to do it. The quality of service was excellent, the activities were priceless ranging from empowering to therapeutic. As soon as you drive through the gate you can feel the tension and stresses of life melt away, to say this was a life changing experience would not be an exaggeration. This was my first solo trip ever and it's the best place to start and revisit. Already planning my next visit with friends!

Room Tip: I had a top floor corner room. It was nothing less than perfect. The sunlight and the view when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Nidia A,
Thank you for your extraordinary review of Travaasa! We are so glad that you enjoyed your fist solo trip and that you felt the tension and stress melt away as soon as you drove in. Hoping to see you again soon.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is definitely one of the best spas I've been to. The team made my Easter weekend unforgettable. There is something magical about this place. I loved everything and the activities offered a perfect variety. Delicious and healthy food from the farm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lanelle H,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Travaasa. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Easter get-away and hope you come back to us again soon to enjoy the Travaasa magic.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 nights here for our babymoon and absolutely enjoyed it. We enjoyed the spa, however wish the staff would really enforce the quite and silence in the waiting area. There are tons of activities to par take. We really enjoyed the farm tour. As well as the juicing class, archery and prickly pear course. This was a great trip and we look forward to going back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NutritiousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear NutritiousFoodie,
We are so honored that you visited Travaasa for your babymoon. It sounds like you enjoyed many of our activities. I will speak to the spa manager about the noise in the treatment halls and waiting room area. We are going to be remodeling our spa this summer, so you'll be happy to see all the changes, including a redo of the waiting room area on your next visit. Hope to see you both again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Travaasa is an amazing experience. More than I ever expected. The resort is beyond fabulous, from the activities to the food and amenities, but what truly made our experience was the delightful staff. We had exceptional service from the moment we made reservations. Greata took care of all our booking questions and went above and beyond explaining all the things offered at Travaasa. Then we arrived early for activities and Marissa not only knew our names, but she greeted us with a smile and wished me a happy birthday. Our first stop was the bike pump course with Jeff and we had another staff member join us, Art. Art could not have been more welcoming and kind to us. Jeff was without a doubt one of our favorites. We enjoyed the bike pump experience so much that we did it twice. He even took pictures for us and emailed to us. Then we had Courtney, Scott, and Josh for the climbing wall and ropes course. They were all extremely knowledgable and patient with us. Even when I became frustrated and a bit irritable as I made my way up the wall. They couldn't have been nicer! I also was able to enjoy a massage by Frankie. The place was gorgeous and we had the best experience. The food was out of this world, the amenities were more than we imagined, and the staff friendly and welcoming. We are already planning an annual trip here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Court M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Cbmeck,
So glad you enjoyed your escape to Travaasa! Thanks so much for your kind words about our team members. They'll be so happy to hear that they helped make your stay memorable and that you're planning to return again to us every year.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a lovely 4-night stay in late March and enjoyed wonderful weather, fun activities, fabulous staff interactions and the generally serene environment. We kept trying to think of what could have made it a better rest and rejuvenation trip and couldn't come up with anything! We took a couple trips into the city for an urban fix and to get some local flavor and found it an easy drive, though there was certainly no need to go off-property for anything.

BTW-everyone we encountered that happened to realize we are a lesbian couple had no awkwardness or adverse reaction that we noticed...just good to know if that's a concern for you.

Room Tip: We had a "canyon view" room which faced away from the property, so it was a bit more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizaG7279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear ElizaG7279,
I appreciate your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Travaasa and that you got some great R&R. I hope that you and your partner return again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
8.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
14.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
422 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,961 reviews
14.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Property: Travaasa Austin
Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity pool, beautifully appointed restaurant and bar with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing