We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful relaxing spa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing spa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Only stayed one night and didn't have a spa treatment, but did visit the spa. They are currently doing grounds improvements so I'd say the environment will only get better, but I found it very peaceful and relaxing. Tucked away in the hills outside of Austin, it is very tranquil. Had a sandwich for lunch and an amazing breakfast and dinner. Dinner was already gluten-free so I didn't even have to worry about it.

Meeting facility was very nice. Staff was very helpful without being intrusive. Room was very clean with nice amenities and hill country view. I didn't get to do many of the activites, but there was a huge selection that would appeal to just about anyone. Found the trails a bit confusing, but still enjoyed the hike.

Overall, I would give an A+ and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit spread out. If you prefer workout more than spa, you might inquire on your room loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LangfordBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
LangfordBL,
Thanks for our A+ here at Travaasa! We're so glad that you enjoyed our helpful staff and beautiful spa and that our meeting facility worked well for you. I hope that next time you return to us, you'll be able to enjoy our activities and services.
Best regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    93
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
90
299
70
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I planned a surprise day for my Mom's birthday at Travaasa and it could not have been any better. We did the total Travaasa Day package and it was well worth it and for a very fair price. Accommodations were fantastic.....Beautiful yoga room, awesome view, comfortable sauna and hot tub, well stocked locker rooms, cozy and private treatment rooms. The spa services were the best that we have received at a spa, she was extremely knowledgeable and professional. The entire staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and happy to help. We will be back and hopefully stay a few nights this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyJanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
JennyJanda,
So glad that you joined us for a Total Travaasa Day with your mom and that it couldn't have been any better. We hope that you do decide to join us for an overnight stay so that you can totally relax without having to drive home after your spa day.
Many happy returns!
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Travaasa is a life-changing experience. I took my sister here for her 40th birthday and we both left transformed. The classes, spa, and "experiences" are amazing, the food 5-star, and the property is a beautiful oasis that wraps you up in its perfect cocoon. Unlike many high-end destination spas, Travaasa's staff is incredibly warm and truly lives Travaasa's holistic mentality. I departed Travaasa completely inspired -- and counting the days until I return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Kyla M,
We're honored that you selected us to help you celebrate your sister's birthday. We are glad that we inspired you and are also counting the days until you return to us.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a visit to Travaasa Austin, inspired by a stay earlier in the year at the Travaasa in Hana, Maui, which we loved. Both hotels were exceptional and offer very intimate sense-of-place experiences.

Our Travaassa Austin stay was wonderful from start to finish. The property is nestled perfectly in its surroundings, with accommodations in separate buildings as opposed to the big hotel multi-floor approach that I always find mundane. Our room had spectacular views in two directions and was very comfy. The cuisine in the dining room was delicious -- we were there for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

We availed ourselves of the spa for a hot stone massage (ahhh) and a honey massage (double ahhh). The Equine Experience is not to be missed. Even if you're not a 'horse person", learning how to establish a rapport with the horse is a metaphor for human relationships, and everyone who participated was transformed. Cowboys Keith and Jody were amazing.

And that leads to the staff, who couldn't have been warmer or more accommodating. They really made our stay at Travaasa incomparable.

I only wish we could have stayed longer, but we'll definitely be back in the new year for another dose of Travaasa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Malia8,
We're so glad that you enjoyed both of our Travaasa properties so much. We're proud that our properties honor the unique environment that surrounds them and try to honor the culture of the area with our array of activities, and it sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed our efforts. We hope that you return to us again in 2013.
Warm regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager, Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

A truly unique property, reminded my wife and I of summer camp (but for adults). We only spent two nights there but we're able to do so much. We did the challenge course, took a hike, had 3 spa treatments, yoga class, fitness class, and horse back riding lessons. The schedule of events is posted on there website well in advance. I would advise planning your schedule in advance, booking your spa and paid classes before you go and then signing up for the daily events 1 day ahead (once you get there you can do it at the welcome center).
The food is also very good! Fresh, imaginative, clean preparations that were also healthy and wholesome. Not the typical all inclusive fare you may expect.
The rooms were decent, nothing too special actually, but clean and comfortable. I anticipated a bit more luxury however I don't think that's what this place is all about. It is a place of wellness, fitness, self discovery, adventure and some pampering, but with that being said you could scale down the activities and just relax by the pool, hit the spa and soak up the beautiful scenery.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jchef12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
jchef12,
Glad you enjoyed our summer (or winter) camp for adults. We aim to provide our guests with fun and unique classes and it sounds like you took full advantage of our activities. We're glad you discovered us and hope you return to us soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I cannot say enough about this stay. The staff was superbly friendly and accomodating. They met my every need, from smiles, opening doors, welcoming, to even sending me off with warm muffins in the early hours the day I left. I was here for a solo trip to relax. The scenery was gorgeous and my room was comfortable. They provided bottled water and coffee and tea on a complimentary basis everywhere. I had yoga and meditation, spa services , a wine tasting, and coooking classes. All experiences were wonderful, cozy, and very educational. The food was fresh, seasonal, and out of this world! I must acknowledge the supervisor I talked to on the last night, Susan for yoga, Martha for the cooking demos, Tracey in the spa, Ashley and Harley in the restaurant, Edward for the wine tasting, and many others. Thanks chef-your food was devine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivetheWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
LivetheWay,
I am so glad that you felt pampered by all the staff here at Travaasa. We aim to please and it sounds like you enjoyed all of your experiences here. We hope you return to enjoy another visit with us soon.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is truly a gem;) The staff is exceptional, from the moment you check in until the moment you leave the property, at every meal, class, hike, and spa appointment in between, they will tend of every detail of you stay. The property is set in a beautiful cedar hillside and offers everything from meditation classes to fear-busting challenge courses that have you crossing bridges 40 ft in the air and completely redefining your personal limitations. The food is excellent- an interactive, creative Chef on site who creates masterfully tasty dishes for all 3 meals each day using locally sourced ingredients and his own signature eclectic style. The massage here was the best I've had in my life. Ever. Most of all- the people who work at Travaasa are, authentic and genuine- they appear as though they enjoy what they are doing 100% and enjoy doing whatever they can to make your stay optimal in all ways. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. We're already planning our next visit (my mum, sister and I).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TruBahamianFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Alanna R,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! We're so glad that you had such a great time and hope to see you (and your mum and sister) again soon.
All the best,
Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Property: Travaasa Austin
Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity pool, beautifully appointed restaurant and bar with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing