We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing great value”
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
Ranked #17 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing great value”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Once you arrive no pressure or stress to do anything. There are lots of things available but don't forget to sign up daily if there is something you want to do. Activities fill up although they do their best to accommodate. Service and attitude great. Food excellent but unusual may not suit some but everything we tried was excellent including antelope duck and polenta French toast. Will be back it was like a cruise on land. We brought our own wine which helped with alcohol bill. Hot in summer it's Texas

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Allen b,
Thank you for the great review: we all really appreciate your comments.We hope that you will come back many more times!
Best,
Tim Thuell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    108
    35
    18
    13
See reviews for
99
319
75
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I bought the day pass and treated myself to a birthday spa day. I started out with an hour-long hike through their hill country property. It was beautiful! I enjoyed lunch by the pool and a dip in the hot tub before my deep tissue massage. Amalia was fantastic. She's so tiny but so strong! Afterward, I swam some laps in the pool. Everything about this place is wonderful! I will definitely go back and want to stay overnight or for a weekend next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinPlano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Minplano,
Thank you for coming for the day! I am so glad you got to enjoy as much as you did. Amalie and her team mates will be delighted, as will I, when you return!
All the best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Ok, If your a guy, you might feel a bit odd going to a spa. I have been to many all over the world, but this place is different. The location is absolutely beautiful. It sits atop a huge Texas Hill/ mountain. No one can get inside property unless your staying or are receiving spa services. It's swimming pool sits at the highest level and overlooks Lake Austin. Because of the drought, it is a bit farther to the waters edge than it used to be. The place is silent except for nature.
If you do nothing but receive a spa service, and lounge by the pool all day, you are going to love life. The changing facilities for men are top of the line. The robes that are provided indicate that they are made for men. There is nothing to show that men are treated different than women. Women, if you have not been here, do not freak out and think that the place is crawling with men. I saw five men at the spa the entire day. All were with their wives. All spa services that I received were performed by high quality professionals.
My wife and I walked on their nature walk course and enjoyed the local outdoor beauty. (take water it can be long and hot) I think you will enjoy it as much as we did.
All i can say is enjoy and relax.. you can not help but enjoy the place.
Words of wisdom. The spa services are priced similar to many nice hotels. However, make sure you educate yourself on the facility usage fee. If you just go to the spa and do not use any of the facilities, there is one price, if you care to enjoy the day, ask them to explain their rates. There are 1/2 day prices with al a carte services and full day prices. Also, if you partake in any of the classes or seminars, they do charge for them unless your signed up for their all inclusive day. Don't be intimidated as I was, just go with your wife and enjoy. You will come back and give me a trip big TripAdvisor thumbs up later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Playnsa,
I really appreciate that call out for men: thank you. I believe you've caught the sentiment just right! We overlook Lake Travis, which is looking better/fuller all the time! Come enjoy, relax and revel in the experience. I hope you return soon.
All the best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Disclaimer: We travel quite a bit and work in the service industry so we may have higher expectations then others.

The Good: Beautiful Property and the grounds were very well kept. Very quiet and peaceful retreat type of environment. Staff was nice and helpful. On the day of checkout they didn't need the room right away so they gave us a late checkout so we could actually do a few activities and leave our stuff in our room. The meals were all really good!

The Bad: The climate in our room was very hard to control. The AC was a window unit and it was either too hot or too cold most of the time. There were a couple of stains on the covers of the bed as well as on the shades to the windows. The maid did not replenish some of the items in the bathroom. The equine experience was great and the people there were wonderful and very knowledgeable. To not include an actual ride seems very silly. Charging an additional $50/person for the ride is just "sticking" it to the guests. The challenge course was a little disappointing as well. Climbing a cargo net, walking across a few platforms/lines before zipping down a line doesn't really feel like a challenge course. It took longer to get suited up than it did to complete the course. The beer and wine tasting were $40 and $50 respectively. We tasted 4 beers and 4 wines. Didn't really learn anything.

Wrap Up: We really like Travaasa and would recommend it to others. In my opinion, they are still testing things and trying to figure out what works. I think they have a lot of potential but for what they are charging they really need to fine tune the activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atx518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear DonnyP,
Thank you very much for your review. You raise some valid points, which I will address with my team here. I hope that you will visit us again very soon, and thanks for coming!
Best,
Tim Thuell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from 2 nights at Travaasa, and loved every minute of it. We only wish we could have stayed a couple more nights. The resort has done a wonderful job of incorporating the buildings into the truly gorgeous natural habitat. Everywhere we turned, we saw so many visually stunning details to marvel over. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the breezy, tree top balcony, while watching the sun rise over the canyon. We repeated the experience at sunset with a glass of wine, before wandering down to the restaurant to enjoy a candelight dinner on the tree-lined patio at the excellent on-site restaurant. The chef uses locally farmed and harvested, organic produce and meats, so the menu changes frequently. All of our meals were excellent. The green beans I had for dinner tasted as though they had just been picked from the garden! The waitstaff was excellent and friendly, and even remembered us by name from one day to the next. This resort is unpretentious and casually elegant. It doesn't put on airs. It's a place to pack light and just be yourself. I was totally comfortable sans makeup, wearing shorts and sandals throughout our visit. The beds were incredibly comfortable, with natural cotton sheets, and sumptuous comforters and pillows. The rooms were quiet and peaceful. We booked a spa facial and foot scrub, and the services were top notch. We enjoyed the heart-starter morning hike through the hills and cedar forests, the yoga classes, and relaxing by the beautiful infinity pool. The guided trail ride with Jody was a highlight of our trip, and we only wished we could have stayed long enough to book the equine experience. That will be a priority the time we visit. Although we had considered driving into Austin for an afternoon visit, we could not bear to tear ourselves away from the resort for even a couple of hours. We left feeling totally relaxed and refreshed. We can't wait to return!
With regard to the comments about difficulty locating the resort- I had requested directions using mapquest, and was left short by several miles. Luckily my daughter's iphone GPS led us directly to the resort. Don't depend on mapquest to find your way. Also, unless you've visited before, I would recommend arriving before dark, as the road in is dark, steep, and twisty, and the entrance may be difficult to spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjd321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear mjd321,
Thank you very much for the full and very complimentary review! The fact that you are contemplating a return, says it all for us! I think you 'hit the mail on the head' in your review, and I really appreciate it. Thank you.
Very best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Recently I booked spa services for 3 of us, (my grown daughter, her mother-in-law, and myself). The spa services were very good although albeit pricey. The food quality was so mediocre that I would consider going to another spa just because of it. All 3 of us agreed about that. What was really annoying was to be told that we would only be allowed to stay for 2 hours on either side of our treatments and then to be told with a really phony smile to "enjoy and relax". Does this really make for a return customer? Perhaps Travaasa does not want customers to come for the day as they make more money on lodging. The place seemed pretty empty when we were there but nevertheless, we did not feel that welcome. Also, I did not appreciate being bullied to give the gratuity before I received the spa treatment. I prefer to give gratuity directly to the massage therapist. I was told I could not do this. Not wanting to have a conflict right up front, I went along with it but did not like the pushiness.I liked the place when it was The Crossings before Travaasa took over. Just not the same genuine experience anymore.Out of town guests are "captive" there as it is not convenient to Austin so keep in mind that it is a resort experience and you will be stuck with what they provide.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Onion-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Onion-free,
I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, or possibly recollections?. I think I could resolve and/or address some underlying issues with you in person, or by phone; but this is not the forum for that. Please do call me, as I would like you to continue coming to Travaasa, and enjoy it as much as most others do: and you have in the past.
Thank you for your time.
Regards,
Tim Thuell
tim.thuell@travaasa.com
512 493 3668
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can't rate Travasaa high enough. I went on a trip with my friend and we both loved every moment of our trip. The staff and service is EXCELLENT. The grounds are GORGEOUS. The food is really top notch. The spa treatments were heavenly. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: One tip - make sure to request a room by the spa and pool if possible! Second tip - bring your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Rachel987654321,
Can't imagine why you left? Thanks so much for the glowing review! And see you again very soon I hope.
All the best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
14.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
10.1 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
400 reviews
14.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,338 reviews
14.1 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Property: Travaasa Austin
Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity pool, beautifully appointed restaurant and bar with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing