We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Delicious”

Congress Restaurant
Ranked #714 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Second Street
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wow. What a meal. I might call this place perfect when it comes to food. Presentation- excellent. Menu, delicious. Service great. Atmosphere, initially feels a tad stuffy, but really nice.

One of my favorite things about Congress is that it is expensive, and that means that you aren't likely to see people in here in shorts, t-shirts and ball caps like you might in many of the other area restaurants.

For the money, you get what you expect. Fresh, cooked to perfection, beautifully prepared food.

My only complaint, and it's really not a complaint was that while the wine list is extensive and well put together, it felt a tad overpriced, but that didn't stop us from enjoying it.

Congress is perfect for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpanningTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Amazing food and service. Great for special occasion of romantic dinner.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kartykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Cocktail Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

On an evening of dining and music, we first stopped into the Congress Bar for cocktails A great space, reminiscent of tony NYC 1940's cocktail lounges. Lively but civilized atmosphere with a pre-dinner pre-show after-office crowd. Well-stocked full-service bar and friendly waitstaff. We had dinner reservations elsewhere but vowed to come back for dinner in the attractive adjacent lobby restaurant. The hostess was friendly and kind to show us around the restaurant and discuss their menu. Good vibes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant. It is a lovely dining experience and the food is the best in Austin in my opinion. Their casual restaurant next door is also great-- I eat there almost every day. The chef at Congress is creative and imaginative and makes Austin much more than a BBQ and Tex-Mex town. This is a true dining experience-- probably unexpected in Austin, Texas. Their private dining room is a wonderful place for a special party or event. Don't miss Congress.

Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by another Restauranteur from San Antonio and we were not disappointed. The Chef at this establishment is an artist with food. All courses were very different and the flavours exceptionally paired. The service staff was equally fantastic... very knowledgeable, professional and polite. We will definitely dine here the next time we visit this great City.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LKINZELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Congress Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing