We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Steakhouse in downtown Austin!”

Vince Young Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Vince Young Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3rd Street
Description: Vince Young Steakhouse is a chic, inviting and locally owned Austin fine dining restaurant serving the finest steaks, wines and desserts in a downtown lively atmosphere with exceptional service.We proudly serve Aged USDA Prime Beef Filet Mignon, Bone-In New York Strip, Ribeye, Bone-In Ribeye, Porterhouse and, our most notable steak, The Perfect Ten, is cut from Texas Akaushi Beef raised in Yoakum, Texas.Our in-house sommelier puts together wine lists to perfectly complement your dining experience. Our bar and lounge offers an extensive, rare Scotch and Bourbon menu, as well as fine cigars. From 5 to 7 pm, our daily Happy Hour specials feature $5 off all bar menu items, $4 beers, $3 off any wine by the glass, $2 off any specialty cocktail and $1 off premium well drinks.Bacon Mac and Cheese, Hand Cut Fries, Crab Cakes, French Onion Soup, Short Rib Chili, Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb, Grilled Duck Breast, and Wagyu Brisket Burger are other local favorites at Vince Young Steakhouse.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steakhouse in downtown Austin!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a long weekend in Austin and one of the highlights for us was the Vince Young Steakhouse. From the moment you walk in the doors you are blown away by how classy and elegant the restaurant is. The staff, wow!!! Super prompt and very friendly. The food was amazing!!! A bit on the pricey side but well worth it. The bacon wrapped fillet, so good! The side dishes are delish. We didn't try dessert but the apps and main course (and superb wedge salad) were simply divine. For sure an ideal Texas steakhouse if you are looking to go big!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattAtl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for making us a part of your trip to Austin, Matt! Our entire team is going to be so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your meal, especially that bacon-wrapped filet. Be sure to join us for dinner next time you're in town!

All the best,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    67
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner tonight and we are so
Glad that we did! We have 2 young kids, with whom we take to fine dining often, and this is the first time we have been given iPads for them to play on. We thought that was very cool right from the start! Our waiter was awesome, I wish we remembered his name but he was very attentive and accommodating with the kids as well. The garlic butter with the foccacia bread and cornbread that was brought out to start, was delicious!! The kids thoroughly enjoyed the sample of the strawberry drink, they drank ours as well!! We ordered the kids the bacon Mac n cheese and they loved it, my husband ordered the filet with bleu cheese and I got the filet with crab Oscar, both were phenomenal! The mushrooms and potato au gratin were both great sides with our steaks. I needed to take our son back to the hotel as he was getting antsy and my husband stayed with our daughter to get her dessert, the waiter gave my husband brownies for myself and my son to take back! The service was phenomenal, the food was phenomenal and we would definitely recommend this restaurant to others!
A side note about the reviews regarding the price, the prices at Vince Youngs steakhouse are the same as any other fine steakhouse that we have been to. Going to a restaurant of this caliber, you should know that everything is ala carte. The food was delicious and well worth the price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbs3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Comments like these make our day, thank you! We know it can be difficult to get kids settled in when you go out to eat, so we try to do what we can to smooth the transition — I'm glad that you appreciated that.

I plan on relaying your message to the rest of my staff. They'll love your kind remarks on the service, food, and your overall experience. We most certainly welcome you to join us again next time you're in Austin!

Take care,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great steak, good atmosphere, friendly service”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was a surprise. The starters were interesting. The steak was very good. Cooked perfectly as requested. Now, the bacon is fantastic - Always ask for bacon with anything. I had it with mac&cheese (yup!), with brocoli and then asked for more. Wine list is extensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dylan, I'm happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by us! You're right, bacon is fantastic on just about anything. It sounds like you were impressed with everything, so I'm curious — what can we do to offer you an even better experience next time around? Thank you for reaching out!

Sincerely,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok so there was a famous quarterback for the UT who didn't do so well in the NFL. Now he has a steakhouse in Austin? Yes. The decor is warm, manly, and rich. The Texas longhorn sculpture in the lobby adorned with pennies is interesting. But how's the food? In my opinion, avereg quality but overpriced.$38 for a small filet and nothing else, as all things are ala carte. It looked lonely on the plate. The mashed potatoes were runny and broccolini way too salty. The salads and shrimp cocktails were very good. Service was so-so. In sum I've had beter at Ruth Chris.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
While I'm thrilled that you enjoyed our ambiance, I was genuinely disappointed to discover that you weren't as happy with your meal. Did you by any chance mention this to your server? We would have been more than happy to switch your sides out for something else. In regard to your comments about our pricing, we'd like to point out that most steakhouses utilize the a la carte system, and we've always found that this helps our guests better customize their meal. That said, we'd love to have another chance to show you a great meal. We know that we can really impress you next time around!

Best,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Steakhouse in downtown Austin”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Ambiance is very nice. The kids menu is on an iPad with games to occupy them after they order. Our steaks and sides were soo good. I highly recommend the grilled corn and bacon. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbramlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our table! Sounds like the whole family had a lovely time, and I'm thrilled to hear it. Thank you, and please join us for dinner next time you're in Austin!

Regards,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vince Young Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing