We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivores come to the table!”

Vince Young Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Vince Young Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 3,737 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 3rd Street
Description: Vince Young Steakhouse is a chic, inviting and locally owned Austin fine dining restaurant serving the finest steaks, wines and desserts in a downtown lively atmosphere with exceptional service.We proudly serve Aged USDA Prime Beef Filet Mignon, Bone-In New York Strip, Ribeye, Bone-In Ribeye, Porterhouse and, our most notable steak, The Perfect Ten, is cut from Texas Akaushi Beef raised in Yoakum, Texas.Our in-house sommelier puts together wine lists to perfectly complement your dining experience. Our bar and lounge offers an extensive, rare Scotch and Bourbon menu, as well as fine cigars. From 5 to 7 pm, our daily Happy Hour specials feature $5 off all bar menu items, $4 beers, $3 off any wine by the glass, $2 off any specialty cocktail and $1 off premium well drinks.Bacon Mac and Cheese, Hand Cut Fries, Crab Cakes, French Onion Soup, Short Rib Chili, Herb Crusted Rack of Lamb, Grilled Duck Breast, and Wagyu Brisket Burger are other local favorites at Vince Young Steakhouse.
johnson city tx
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Carnivores come to the table!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Atmosphere not as polished as the wine sommelier, - he assisted with 3 bottles of wine for dinner and all three choices were outstanding! Our wait staff was great at allowing us to dine and have conversation and yet appeared just when we needed him.
All of our steaks were perfected prepared, and we have picky meat eaters, from rare to well done... I chose the filet with crab and shrimp topping, yo can get the toppings on the side as well. We had family style vegs and almost missed the bread on the table. We had to depart for a Boz Skaggs concert just a walk down the street to ACL in the W, so we missed dessert. I hate when I miss dessert! Portions are generous, even the filet. Love my beef - Texas size!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Tina,

We don't like missing dessert either, but a concert with the legendary Boz Scaggs is a treat in and of itself! Thank you for sharing your evening with us, and for the fabulous review. We hope to have you back soon—and that you have plenty of time for dessert!

Warm regards,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    67
    29
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seriously Good Steaks”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I live in Austin and have been to Vince Young Steakhouse twice. The service is outstanding with a friendly staff that seems pleased to be there serving you these exquisite cuts of beef. I have not tried anything that was not delicious. My favorite, the 12 oz Filet topped with crab meat. The roased corn with bacon side is awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vis78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
"Exquisite" is a word that we love to hear! It is the perfect way to describe your 12 oz filet—the crab meat adds an unforgettable richness to that delicious dish. Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words. Come back and see us again soon!

All the best,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived last night around 8pm with no reservation and were seated immediately. I'm shocked there wasn't a wait, as this is a great place. There was live music playing in the bar area.The atmosphere is "just right"... the lighting is perfect and elegant without being stuffy. I wish I could remember our waiter's name, but he was both attentive and funny. I had the farm to table salad and my husband had the caesar, and both were excellent. We split the salmon and got a side of brussel sprouts, and thoroughly enjoyed both. I didn't love the bread, which is a little disappointing since I only eat bread once a week. Not sure what the over priced comments are about; our bottle of wine was only $34 and our total bill for the evening was around $115, which is pretty typical for this class of restaurant. And btw, Vince was there last night dining with his wife and son. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Between your salmon and our wonderful band, it sounds like you and your husband had a fabulous evening! It was a pleasure to be a part of it, Jamie. Thank you for sharing your kind words. We hope to welcome both of you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vince Young”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the food was very good, and the service excellent, this place is extremely overpriced. Not sure how just opening a restaurant in a downtown section, expecially Austin, allows you to charge big bucks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baldharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
While we are thrilled that you enjoyed both our dishes and service, we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with our pricing. As fellow food enthusiasts, we pride ourselves on serving some of the best prime steaks in Texas, and we utilize the freshest ingredients to obtain the highest quality. In fact, our prices are in line with the other steakhouses located in downtown Austin, and often we are able to offer an even better value. We hope this provides some insight into your concerns. Thank your for your candid feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to wow you.

Best wishes,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“I ordered the bone in sirloin medium rare...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

And it was cooked and served hot and medium rare! Wow! Finally a steakhouse that takes my order seriously!

I cannot count the number of times my steak has been over cooked in other restaurants but when dining with two business associates at Vince Young my steak was perfect! Hot, delicious and absolutely wonderful. The side dishes of spinach, mushrooms and mashed potatoes were excellent as was the calamari appetizer. Yes, you pay a premium for premium food but we were happy to do it.

Service was superb. All three steaks were served at the same time by three servers and we didn't feel rushed when we sat and discussed business for a long while after our meal.

Great place, great steak. Definitely will return!

Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vysteakhouse, Owner at Vince Young Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ron,

Texans take their steaks pretty seriously, so we're proud to continue that tradition for all of our guests! It was a pleasure to be a part of your trip to Austin. Thank you for sharing your kind words. We'll see you next time you're in the Lone Star State!

All the best,
Laura Brown, Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vince Young Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing