We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour, happy belly, happy wallet”
Review of Uchiko

Uchiko
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchiko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 3,738 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 43rd
Description: We are proud to announce... Chef Tyson Cole, winner of the 2011 James Beard Foundation Award for Best Chef Southwest--Thank you Uchi and Uchiko family and friends for your support! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Uchiko, translated as "child of Uchi" from Japanese, is the next restaurant venture for renowned executive chef and sushi master Tyson Cole. Located in central Austin, this second location of Cole's highly-praised Uchi presents the same excellence and energetic atmosphere of the original with some noteworthy additions. Uchiko features a new menu with Uchi's same style of innovative and fresh cuisine, a main dining room that accepts reservations throughout the evening and an eat-in bar/café area.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy hour, happy belly, happy wallet”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Prior to our stay in Austin, I read a lot of great reviews for Uchi and Uchiko. Given that we live in Vancouver, BC which has great Japanese food, we had our doubts. Due to a cold which left me with low energy, I forgot to make a reservation and making one last minute was impossible. When I phoned Uchiko to see what they would recommend as plan B, they said happy hour. We sat at the sushi bar which turned out to be a highlight. It was great to see how the food orders were split up among the chefs. The happy hour menu offered a nice array of food and drink options plus you can still order from the regular dinner menu. We had some drinks, several rolls, different types of tempura and we split a dessert. The bill was just $40 before tip! Unlike a lot of modern looking Japanese restaurants, I liked that at Uchiko the flavour was authentic, none of that awkward fusion stuff. The presentation on the other hand was contemporary and beautiful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    79
    46
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“From food to service...Amazing!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

One of the best in Austin for sure. Service was very attentive and on-point since the moment we sat down for dinner. After some sake, we shared some of the dinner specials for the night, which were prepared beautifully. We tasted a little bit of every section of the menu and every item was unique, prepared with high attention to detail and packed in flavor.
Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cae87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small plates, big flavor”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I'm pretty sure I thought our server was nuts when he suggested that we try the brussel sprouts. However, 4 months later, we are STILL talking about them! Amazing dish. I loved every single plate that was in front of me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FitTravelerAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Austin Gem”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you are looking for seriously great Japanese food with a modern flair, look no further than this amazing restaurant.

Austin is really blessed with some serious quality food and Uchi/Uchiko both stand out and deliver an impressive dining experience.

I went with my wife and 2 young daughters, both of whom are sushi aficionados. We shared many outstanding dishes, the sea bass with grapefruit, the koviche, the scallop and the salmon--all from the tasting menu. Some were so good, we asked for a second portion. We also tried some of the basic sushi and sashimi, all were amazingly fresh and prepared to perfection.

Wish we lived closer and could come more often, but it is a nice drive for us for special occasions!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richardg6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No words - Amazing multi-sensory experience”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and I had an incredible meal - one of our all-time favorite. Wagyu beef served with a salted hot rock to sear the beef slices, venison with kale and other goodies served in a closed glass jar filled with applewood smoke, cured scallops, sea urchin, raw scallops with hot sauce and avocado, pickled apple with yellow tail, and more - all wonderfully plated and delicious flavor combinations. And the desserts... WOW - buttermilk panna cotta, "fried milk," and warm mini beignets with sarsaparilla cream, everything was so beautiful and unique. We were told by a local to "get all the desserts" and thought he was joking until we saw the menu and couldnt decide (so we got three, which is not like us to do).

We sat at the sushi bar and enjoyed talking with Jeff and the other sushi chefs and watching them prepare gorgeous looking plates. They were fun, friendly and knowledgeable. An all-around wonderful experience. Like I said, one of the best we've ever had. Make reservations in advance, and sit at the sushi bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 411LisaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchiko also viewed

 

Been to Uchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing