We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Uchiko

Uchiko
Reserve with OpenTable
Uchiko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 3,683 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 43rd
Description: We are proud to announce... Chef Tyson Cole, winner of the 2011 James Beard Foundation Award for Best Chef Southwest--Thank you Uchi and Uchiko family and friends for your support! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Uchiko, translated as "child of Uchi" from Japanese, is the next restaurant venture for renowned executive chef and sushi master Tyson Cole. Located in central Austin, this second location of Cole's highly-praised Uchi presents the same excellence and energetic atmosphere of the original with some noteworthy additions. Uchiko features a new menu with Uchi's same style of innovative and fresh cuisine, a main dining room that accepts reservations throughout the evening and an eat-in bar/café area.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is amazing!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

You may not care for Texas, but if nouvelle Japanese is up your alley a trip to Austin will not be in vain. Uchiko delivers and rewards. I love Japanese cuisine and love it any way I can get it, traditional, fusion or fully eclectic. Uchiko is for all these. I live in NY and there is nothing quite like it and, if there is, it definitely wouldn't be at those prices. On each trip to Austin I trip to fit more than one visit. Relax, go omakase style and enjoy it to your heart's content.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeNorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    76
    45
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Five of us visited Uchiko for dinner. The service was excellent, but the food even better! We sampled P-38 rolls, Uni, Crunchy Tuna, Tiger Cry Roll, Hama Chili and several deserts. I am not a well traveled sushi sampler and found the creations here to be like nothing I've ever tasted. All the fish was fresh and tasty. The best overall sushi restaurant I've ever been to, highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must go when in Austin”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Birthdays, anniversaries, regular weekday, friends and family visiting... my husband and I have been to Uchiko on multiple occasions. We always had a blast, and our friends did too. The staff is incredibly well-trained, the brussel sprouts are amazing, the fried milk... I wish it could be mailed to any state in America! This is one of the best restaurants in the USA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lane_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was good but not great.”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were visiting and did the signature tasting, which appears to be their most popular dishes. We also added on 3 or 4 dishes off the menu to get a lot of flavors. Everything was good, but there were only 4 stand out items. I think total we had 8 or 9 items.

The standouts:

- Brussle sprouts
- A truffle/avacodo/crudo combo that was a special and OUT of this world delicious
- Tobacco Cream dessert was super fun, flavor forward and unique

Unfortunately there were 2 losses for us:
- the jar jar duck was honestly kinda gross. The flavor was nice but the consistency and look was kind of like vomit in a jar.
-Pork jowl was a little slimy. It was tender but the texture was a little weird, maybe it was just me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helvetica86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“stay off the beaten path for an amazing meal”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this place get's very busy and is well (maybe too well) staffed. they forgot to seat us BUT did not give away our table, just got very confused. when i finally realized it was our table and asked they were extremely apologetic and seated us quickly. within 30 seconds our waiter stopped by to introduce himself and explain that they had already placed and order for one of the more popular appetizers on the house for us to make amends. a normal restaurant faux pas handled perfectly!! the food was everything it was made out to be. carefully prepared, delicate combination of flavors. really truly food as art, while still being completely enjoyable and tasty. the best way to order is to have the server help and just order a mess of stuff, let them pace it as the kitchen has time and room. trying to order an app, main, dessert will get you annoyed instantly here. order 10 small plates and eat them over 75 minutes with lots of house sake and you will have a perfect conversation and meal at the same time. my one piece of advice (And take this seriously) is that the standard rolls here are by FAR the weakest thing on the menu. i would avoid them at all costs. they are average at best and when compared to the 10/10 best thing i ever ate stellar small plates on offer these rolls actually seemed.... bad. so there you go, 1 little bad thing in an otherwise memorable meal. i would recommend this place all day everyday. don't be a food snob, just go and enjoy some really interesting and delicious foods. here are the best small plates we had:
shishito yaki (Forget the edamame and have this instead)
hama chili (get it? hamachi hama chili?? ha!!)
brussel sprouts (this was our free offering)
hot rock
jar jar duck (this is just plain crazy.... pay attention when they bring it!!!)
mori bacon

we had a few others but these are absolute highlights!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing