We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Disappoint even at 10:30pm!”
Review of Snack Bar - CLOSED

Snack Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: STYLISH : relaxed ambiance that invites lingering with your date, friends, or notebook. Bring the dog. TASTEFUL : globally inspired, locally sourced, chef-driven menu made with organic, raised-right & natural ingredients. DISTINCTIVE : small vineyard wine, local craft beer, fancy drinks, artisan coffee & specialty loose tea.
Fort Meade, FL
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't Disappoint even at 10:30pm!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

After bat-watching and driving 30 miles only to find the restaurant we wanted to dine at closed, we walked up and down Congress looking for an eatery that was still open. Tired and hot, we decided to dine at The Snack Bar, which is on the property of the Austin Motel, where we were staying. Ironically, what we thought was the last choice was undoubtedly the best choice. We both ordered the Dos Lunas Burgers. They were cooked to order and were big and juicy. The aged cheese used on the burger was absolutely fabulous! A load of fries was served up in a mini paper bag and honestly, I couldn't stop eating them until they were gone. We had excellent service in a clean, cool, and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FortMeadMamaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inventive food at a delightful place on South Congress”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

While staying at the Austin Motel, we ate at the Snack Bar frequently and were never disappointed. The food is excellent, fresh and delicious...organic and inventive. Sitting outside on the patio people watching is a joy, especially while drinking excellent coffee in the morning and excellent local beers in the evening. The wait staff are friendly and welcoming (even dogs get a bowl of water brought out to them upon arrival). It's one of those places we returned to over and over. The people who work here are so nice that they even printed out our boarding passes for us. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PegGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Upscale, quirky snack bar with super tasty food”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

From the quirky logo and sign to the unique menu this is one upscale snack bar. I went for lunch with my daughter and it was the sign that caught our attention but the menu that drew us in. She lives in Austin but had never been there. I really like the way the menu was arranged with categories like on the Day Menu there is "Eggs - Grains", "Salads - Sandwiches - Plates", "Anytime Sides", and the Night Menu with categories of "Snacks - Small Plates", "Entrees". The Anytime sides have an interesting mix of healthy and comfort food, with chilled beets in a balsamic reduction and flash fried brussels sprouts along side mac and cheese and french fries.

We ordered Perico con Arepas and Avocado Quinoa and shared the two. The Arepas were scrambled eggs with tomato, onion, poblanos with an avocado-cilantro hot sauce served with silver dollar corn cakes. The veggie combo with the eggs was very flavorful but the green hot sauce was the big winner -- both creamy and spicy. The corn cakes were as good as I have ever tasted. The quinoa was made with cotija, arugula, advocado, yellow pepper with a hint of sweetness from the pineapple vinaigrette. A nice surprise was the bloody mary made with sake.

Other interesting items we didn't try include Tamago Yoko, Sweetbread Schnitzel,Sardines en Boite and GoodSeed Hemp Burger. There is also more standard fare like Pizzetta, French Toast, and Antonelli's Cheese Burger. There are many more so try it for yourself.

I know there are lots of really great places on South Congress but don't miss this one!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lplsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“One of the best restaurants in Austin!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you're looking for great food, in a great spot in Austin, this is the place. We enjoyed some of the best sangria, Brussels sprouts & calamari we've ever had on their awesome patio just off the eclectic S. Congress Ave. This is a "Must Visit" if you're in town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the better places on South Congress”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Snack Bar is always surprising me with the quality of their food.
The size of the servings is actually on the 'snack' size, don't expect leftovers.
What is nice about this place, is that you can order a few smaller plates, and treat them as tapas, share with whoever you go with.
Their patio is a perfect place to people watch.
The architecture of this restaurant is rather eclectic, just like the food, and the servers.
A true Austin Weird. Definitely worth trying out if you are from out of town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taco_Connosieur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing