We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Can Not Describe”
Review of Franklin Barbecue

Franklin Barbecue
Ranked #6 of 3,736 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: East Austin
Texarkana, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Words Can Not Describe”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Seriously, I..cant...make...words...mouth too full of brisket. Wait...im sorry, this isnt just a brisket. It is quite possibly the best morsel of cow meat I have ever had the good fortune to shove down my throat. Best brisket period. Aaron Franklin is the Brisket King! My dads pork ribs looked quite satisfying as well but he hoarded them as though they were too precious to share. Yes, the line is ridiculous. Yes, the smells will make you go crazy. Yes, it is the best que ever. If you want the best, guess what, you have to pay the price. Eat this food now!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    170
    82
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

My good its the best brisket ever
But... We arrive at 7:45 am on sat, and wait 4 hours on the line please do somthing

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillllermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth visiting at least once.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The line is ridiculous and I agree with some reviewers that this place has become way overrated. But with that said, waiting in the line is part of the experience and the food is pretty excellent. I tried a little bit of everything and the ribs were my favorite. The brisket, pork, sausage, and turkey were all so good but the ribs here were dynamite. I would definitely recommend going at least once, after that, try to pre-order.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The bbq was pretty good. The briskets was delish but the ribs...ahhh well another story! the turkey, they dunk in the au ju and its pretty amazing. the wait is horrid but they come out with hot link samples for everyone while waiting. I head if you buy the entire brisket you can skip line!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KULINARYKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good BBQ Bad wait”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The popularity of this place in my opinion is way overrated. The BBQ here is good but it is not worth the 3-4 hour wait and the line around the block. It's become a big social feat and nothing more. When I arrived at 8 am the line was already around the corner with about 100 waiting. Based on what I saw, I presumed I was going to have the most phenomenal BBQ in the states. After taking my place in line and finally tracing the front door after 4 hours, I was disappointed. Don't get me wrong, the food here is very good with good size portions, but not worth spending the entire morning and afternoon waiting for it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bsryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing