We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do in Austin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Franklin Barbecue

Franklin Barbecue
Ranked #5 of 3,689 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Austin
grayson, georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must do in Austin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Not only was the food incredible, what made this restaurant special was the obvious contentment of the entire crew here. A definite must do in Austin.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stew2730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    161
    79
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

It's a rare thing for a restaurant to live up to the media hype for me, but Franklin BBQ did that and more. We went on our last day in Austin, got there a little after 9 and there were already about 25 people in front of us. The wait until 11AM went quick, lots of people-watching to do. At 11AM the doors open and it's time to...wait in the inside line. Ahh, but the goodness is in sight, and the smells are mouth-watering.

Once we got to the counter it was sample time - a few pieces of brisket to get you ready, and what a brisket. This is the best brisket I have ever had, hands down. My quote of the morning..."I could cry this is so good." Yes, it is that good. Get the fatty brisket for the really moist stuff. We all got two meat plates so we could try a little of everything. The sausage - excellent. I like my sausage to snap when you bite into it, and this does. And the taste! Awesome. The ribs - they don't look like it, but they are moist and tender. The sides, maybe not so good - but I could care less. Did I mention the brisket?

If you are in Austin you need to get to Franklin Barbecue. No excuses- just get there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hounddog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As good as BBQ can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went there over spring break. A quirky place with lines forming with lawn chairs, blankets, umbrellas at 10 for the 11am opening. They serve amazing ribs, brisket, sausage, turkey, coleslaw, etc. with brown butcher paper for your plate. We went twice and couldn't get there before they ran out of ribs and turkey. The hand chopped beef and brisket was best ever. Large mouthwatering portions with great sauces. They close when they run out of meat: usually by 1:30 pm. My teenage son saw it and said, "it's ghetto, I am not eating there." We stopped and waited in line, ate, and he hasn't stopped talking about his " best BBQ ever" since coming home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Brisket! Worth the Wait!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We did a Texas drive tour in March and after reading reviews I had to make this place our first stop in Austin. We arrived at about 1230pm on a Friday afternoon an there was already about 30 people in the outside line (probably another 25 or so in the indoor line). Someone already mentioned the beer in line, a welcome treat as it was about 80f in line. SXSW was in so there were a lot of musicians and visitors from distant places, it was great fun talking to everyone. Franklin staff greet you in line, tell you what they're out of already, and if, based on your position in line, you're going to get anything! They only stay open while they still have food - typically 1100am til around 200pm. I think we waited around an hour and they still had brisket..we've never had meat that tasty and tender, it was awesome! Sides were great too(potato salad/beans). Great, friendly staff. Highly recommended..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Brisket Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For years I have heard of the greatness that is Franklin. My job now takes me to Austin twice a month and I try and plan my three or four days there to get at least one meal there. I show up late, around 130 and usually stand in line for about 35-40 minutes. On most occasions the people three of four behind are told no more. The brisket is the best Texas brisket I have ever had. Not too fatty, not to lean. It's flavorful and has incredible texture. Melt in your mouth and slap yo mamas face damn good!!! The sides are all tasty, but why waste the room. Staff was friendly too

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rbaelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franklin Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing