We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed One of the BEST W hotels”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #22 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I am having W Austin withdrawals. I travel close to 200 nights a year and miss the W Austin. My last stay was In October. Aside from some items missing when I checked out, it is always a great experience.
The service is the BEST W experience in the country. I am not kidding. I stayed already 8 times the past year and they never miss. Tony is special, a real special person. Joanna is a wonderful, caring room director who will always want to please with passion.
The living room has great servers who are friendly, and really like what they do!
The spa is great, pool scene and employees are fabulous. Work out gym is one of the best...
Trace restaurant can be hit or miss but they really try and the ingredients are fresh. I know it will be better.
I am arriving with my husband this month and hopefully will stay at The W Austin, I just love it there!!!
Not kidding, they are trained well here...GOOOO! Excellent...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneLmichele1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. i am so thrilled to hear that my team has been able to make such a tremendous impact during your many stays.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon!

Warm Regards
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Family one night stay for April. Hotel canceled the confirmed reservation because they had intended to get more money for the room. Technical error? No. Just shoddy work+nobody double checking= trying to weasel out later with slimy legalese. In 15 years I have never been allowed to cancel a non-refundable room. Same old story the consumer loses and the companies play by their own rules.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank JTT129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We value the loyalty of our guests and that was reflected in our desire to quickly respond to those who were affected with an offer of a 40%-60% discount off the prevailing rate. We are sorry that you remain dissatisfied that we could not honor the $18 - $40 rates that were published in error.

I understand that you are currently in communication with my team and the Starwood Hotels and Resorts Consumer Affairs office, but if you would like to discuss your experience further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or drew.mcquade@whotels.com.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Similar to other reports I feel I have been scammed by the hotel, where they wont honor the price I had on my reservation. There are good aspects with the hotel, but when you feel cheated you just cant do anything than recommend others to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank gumball997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We value the loyalty of our guests and that was reflected in our desire to quickly respond to those who were affected with an offer of a 40%-60% discount off the prevailing rate. We are sorry that you remain dissatisfied that we could not honor the $18 - $40 rates that were published in error.

I understand that you are currently in communication with my team and the Starwood Hotels and Resorts Consumer Affairs office, but if you would like to discuss your experience further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or drew.mcquade@whotels.com.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked a rate at what I believed to be a sale price, but was contacted 48 hours later claiming the rate was 'in error', and offering to let me stay for a rate 10x the rate I agreed to. At no time was any consideration given to plans that may have been made, or other rates that I could have booked if I had not thought I had a confirmed reservation. The hotel and the Corporate office have confirmed that ANY rate can be canceled or changed if they feel that it was 'in error', and there is no time limit for when they feel errors need to be declared by. Be VERY careful about booking here, as you cannot be sure if your reservation will be honored!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank joelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent reservation. Let me express, once again, our sincerest apologies for any frustration that our communication regarding the unusually low rate you were able to book may have caused. I am sorry that we could honor the rate, which was published in error.

I understand you are in discussions with my team now in hope of finding an agreeable resolution. Should you be open to discussing your experience with me further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or drew.mcquade@whotels.com.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Austin W is the best and only place I stay in Austin. I have stayed there multiple times and will continue to for the foreseeable future. The atmosphere is fun and the location is unbeatable. Most recently I was there for a bachelor party and everyone had an amazing time. The hotel bar offers a great night scene however the bartenders are friendly and knowledgeable all day as well. Not only is the W located in the heart of downtown near dozens of great restaurants, but it’s walking distance to 6th street and the rest of Austin’s great nightlife. The W pool is great and if you want to really be outside, Town Lake is less than a block away too. Can’t wait for the next time I plan a trip to Austin because I already know where I’ll be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi Chris, thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere that we offer. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The customer service here is fantastic. They accommodate any request without delay and the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. The downtown location is perfect, within walking distance to many great bars and restaurants as well as being two blocks away from the running trails by the river. When I return to Austin, I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the trail.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a great hotel for all of the reasons you would choose to stay at a hotel- great location, excellent amenities, and beautiful rooms. However, it is the customer service here that makes this hotel stand head and heels above the rest. Everyone in the hotel is extremely helpful and caring. They do all within their power to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

I traveled during SXSW when the city was crazed. It was impossible to find cars however the concierge always was willing to work with me and find a car to suit my needs in a timely manner. Also, I happened to leave a few things behind in the hotel and the security team there was gracious enough to locate my items right away and ship it to me free of charge. This place really goes above and beyond in terms of customer satisfaction. I will definitely stay here any time I go to Austin!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello Joanna,
Thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit over SXSW with us. I'm also glad to hear that my team was able to assist in recovering your lost items. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 203 in Austin
2,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
9.6 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 203 in Austin
2,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#9 of 203 in Austin
1,696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $298 - $788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing