We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in great city”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in great city”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful; property was trendy yet homey. The sales and marketing coordinator gave me a tour of the property. Strong nightlight vibe; several lounge areas; full spa; outdoor pool with chairs and private cabanas. Highly recommend for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice
See more room tips
Green Features: Water-efficient bathroom fixtures. I was happy with what I observed. The air cond was eco friendly
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    259
    94
    37
    29
See reviews for
111
375
56
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I loved my stay here, beautiful room - amenities, comfortable bed but the only downside was I didn't have a bath in my room. A huge shout out to Caleb at the W who looked after me from the moment I walked it from check-in, to helping me with local tips and just being a friendly face around the hotel.

Green Features: great recycling program in the rooms and around the hotel!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshaSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Insider, Caleb was able to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

W Austin is a great combination of cool amazing design and warm personal service. From the pool area to the downstairs lounge to the public areas and the rooms, it is obvious that the hotel was created for people who appreciate progressive design - lots of little touches like the chess sets in the lobby to the record album room in the lounge to the way the swimming pool and deck are configured. Sometimes when you find a hotel like that, you find it staffed by people who are so busy being cool that they forget they have guests - this is definitely NOT the case with W Austin. From the minute we arrived, the valet, doorman and front desk all were warm, friendly and helpful. Like most W Hotels, it seems is was created with couples in mind; however, our 17 year old traveling with us fit right in and enjoyed it right along with us. (The hotel will be happy to put a privacy curtain to make up for the absence of a bathroom door if you ask.) Parking is a bit expensive, but not out of line when you consider other city locations and remember that you are in downtown Austin where you are often lucky to find parking at all. The location is great, and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed our design and that my team was able to make your stay more memorable. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have stayed at the W in Austin a couple of times and the staff were most helpful. The rooms and view of the lake were wonderful. The location is ideal if you are attending any events at the Austin City Limits theater or any of the clubs in the vicinity.
Recently I left behind my tablet charger and phoned upon my return several days later(after searching everywhere). They were able to locate it and sent it by FedEx overnight . It was a great help and relief. Needless to say, my tablet is 're-energized'
We look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeCharlesFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our RISK team was able to secure your tablet charger. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The moment I pulled up to the W in Austin, i loved it . On the left of the front door, there is a immaculate, cozy lounge with drinks you can buy and a chess set with the corners up and the pieces have curved bottoms so they don't fall when you pick the board up. Next to the whatever-whenever desk, there is a old-timey typewriter you can write things on. My room itself was immaculate, and my bed was very comfy. Their restaurant, Trace, was cool. The menu was held on a wood slab, and the food was to everyones liking. The concierges were nice, and one in particular, Jason, was very funny, nice to kids, and gave good advice on where to go for tourists. At the front desk, they have video rentals. If you have a car, they park it for you and when you go somewhere they drive it to the curb for you very fast.
Overall, this immediately went on my list of "Best hotels ever".

Room Tip: Get 2 rooms that connect on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bklyntraveler609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that Jason was able to make it more memorable. We're so pleased to have made your prestigious list, and hope that we see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

From the second we pulled up to the Valet, I was impressed by the customer service at W Austin. I was greeted by name with eye contact by each member of the staff. Lauren at the front desk was helpful in orienting us to the facility as it was our first stay & we saw her again early the next morning as well - smiling and helpful as ever.

The rooms are gorgeously appointed. Modern, but comfortable. Abundantly elegant and stylish. Even the stationary is beautiful yet current/on trend. I could live here.... it's just that well put together. Our room was on the 10th floor and we were offered a city view which we took even though Lauren warned us we might hear a bit more noise on that side of the building. (We could hear a band from a nearby club, but it wasn't enough to effect our sleep.) I'll post a picture of our view. I'm very familiar with Austin since I live/grew up here, but the view was stunning nonetheless. We were right behind the elevators, but the hotel is so well constructed that I never once heard any sounds from the elevator moving.

Trace is their restaurant, and we had breakfast there. Good food. Not ridiculously priced. I had the migas and coffee, and my husband enjoyed the omelet. (There was also a gulf-coast shrimp & grits that caught my eye!) The waiter made sure I had a to-go coffee before we finished.

Upon checkout, Lauren called ahead to the Valet to bring our car & they brought it around quickly even though they were quite busy, again greeting us by name. As they loaded our bags into the car I could hear the Valet asking my husband if there was anything his team could have done to make our stay even better.... I thought to myself, "not a chance.. this is heaven" ;) He then ran over to their stand and brought us two bottled waters for the road.

I absolutely 100% recommend this hotel. Out of this world service. I loved it.

Note: I mentioned when booking online that this trip was for our anniversary. When my husband and I returned to our room after some drinks and dinner out (La Condessa is delish - I recommend it), we found a chilled bottle/champagne flutes & a note thanking us for choosing to stay at the W for our anniversary. (We had also been given two drink tickets upon check-in which we happily redeemed at the bar just off the lobby.)

Room Tip: A room with a river view would probably be quieter, but the city view is pretty wonderful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisoohlala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and that Lauren was able to make your stay more memorable. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you yearn for modern, hip, cool, eclectic, design, with shades of industrial, arty, yet ever so elegant: look no further!! No question, this is my favorite hotel in Austin. There are no huge public spaces in this hotel, but rather the ambience of a special service boutique hotel. Off the entry, you will find two cozy, hip sitting/reading/drinking areas, one with fireplace, both with contemporary sofas and chairs. I can tell you I DEFINITELY enjoyed a smooth whiskey here after my nights out!!! You might expect a hotel experience like this in New York, Seattle, San Francisco, Dublin, or the Latin Quarter in Paris. I booked a "Corner Suite", based on the impressive photos. Surprise, and I was upgraded to a "Marvelous Suite": two bedroom kings, two bath, living room, dining area. Excellent décor with Austin music scene photos festooning the walls. Spacious, modern bathrooms, one with tub and shower, the other with beautiful glass enclosed shower...just excellent! (Please see the hotel photos for a taste of the décor). I'm unsure of the age of the property, but this was a well maintained hotel, definitley not shopworn and tired in appearance. But wait, there is more!! Younger, excellent staff, groomed to please and satisfy every request. Fitness room is adequate, with bikes, ellipticals, treadmills, yoga room, free weights and a variety of machines for a good workout. (I used to work as a fitness trainer.) The property is in downtown Austin, and perhaps within walking distance, but I used my car for the 3 to 5 minute drive to my chosen restaurants. The property is 4 blocks from popular Sixth Street. Christmas dinner was 4 course fixed menu, with excellent entrees and service to match. Room Service? The egg white omelet is orgasmic!! So, did I enjoy this hotel? Would I recommend? YES and YES!! With one proviso: my 80 year old grandmother probably wouldn't appreciate this hotel! ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Rick, thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday stay with us and were able to take advantage of our many amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
1,306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Property: W Austin
Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing