We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a reason it is one of the best rated hotels in Austin”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #18 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The little things make a huge difference at this hotel. If you keep your eyes open, you will see things that you don't see at other hotels. Like chargers next to the bed for your iPod, iPhone, Droid, or even Blackberry! An incredible shower that feels like you are at a spa (and speaking of which they have a pretty incredible spa too!). The toilet paper wrapper has cool sayings on it (see for yourself, I'm not ruining the surprise), the towel in the bathroom for the floor is labeled (not telling), and the mats in front of the elevators are changed at least three times a day with different sayings (maybe a 4th, I didn't stay up that late). Speaking of late, there are a ton of small cozy bars you can checkout after (or before) dinner - very cool.

In short, this hotel has everything you would expect at a 5 star hotel (quiet rooms, great service, wonderful bed, etc.), plus some really cool twists. Check it out.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the river!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for W Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

The view from the room overlooked the lake. Wow. real treat. Make sure to ask for the view! Beds were clean, cozy. Furnishings incredibly modern and expensive. Don't bring too many clothes because the closet is VERY small and no drawers for things like socks, undies, and bras. The pool area is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! Wow. Concierge was very helpful and accommodating. Hallways kind of You do not need a car here, everything is nearby, shopping, bike/walk trail, music, everything. Awesome smoothie place down the street that can fix you an alkaline recovery beverage if you drink too much the night before, and an upscale bodega right next to that.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the lake. Be sure to visit the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I have been escaping from Houston at least once a month to stay at the W Austin. The employee's make our stay feel like a home and I never want to return to Houston. Thanks Jeff for your wonderful smile when you escort us to our room.
The spectacular views of Austin from the W continue to take my breath away no matter what room we stay in. I never miss the sunset from our room. Thank you Chris for our last suite. We were able to see the sunset from three sides of the W.
We had also misplaced our shaving kit and glasses and Owen found the items and shipped it to us the next day.
See you next month.

Room Tip: I love the Lake view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the W in Austin and our stay was great. All the staff was very attentive including the valet, check-in, concierge, wait-staff in both the restaurant and bar areas. Upon arrival we had an issue with the room that with undetermined root cause. Instead of blaming us or the booking site Sheena simply called the manager Josh and the two of them rectified our issue in jest few minutes during a very busy weekend. The concierge was printed some last minute concert tickets so we were not late for the show. Citava our waitress in the bar remembered our name from the night before and not only made us feel welcomed at happy hour but also recommended her favorite place in town for amazing comfort food. The valet never let me open the car door and we got offered directions every departure. Pillows were perfect and the room was well insulated from noise outside hallway. In short the hotel met every need we had, including in-room recycling bins.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked a last minute getaway through Travelocity for downtown Austin. The W was very hip and the service was excellent. I hadn't been in the warehouse district of Austin in years and it was a pleasant surprise. A great area to walk around with plenty of food and drink.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

W hotels are a great brand world-wide, and I've stayed in many over the years; however, the Austin W stands out as my favorite. The staff and Texas-charm really made an impression on me. From the moment you walk in you know you're going to have a 5-star experience. The location is key for me, with everything fun and exciting about Austin within steps of the hotel. The facilities are immaculate, the spa/gym fantastic, and the bar/restaurant delicious. Hands down the best hotel in Austin, and I will stay with them every time I return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall, nice facility as one would expect. Great staff at reception, concierge and parking. Housekeeping falls down some ... had a lamp we pointed out first day that the switch did not work, it was not fixed or replaced through the week ... coffeemaker never replenished with regular coffee without one or two calls to tell them we really had no need for only decaf .. one day vacuuming need was obvious, but not done. When we called to correct things, met with professional courtesy and usually problems fixed, except the lamp. So, there may have been some crew out or other staff problem at the time, I don't know, but housekeeping, to us, felt like it needed some attention. Public areas are kept in tip-top shape. One thought, it would be nice if the area where you wait for your car was nonsmoking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtPontchartrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of the W Austin. I very much appreciate your feedback regarding the service you experienced during your stay. I am glad that our team met the needs you brought up, and appreciate you taking the time to tell us so that we could solves any problems you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $335 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing