We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice W hotel and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Austin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
W Austin
Ranked #19 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice W hotel and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at the brand new W in Austin twice this year, once in January and for SXSW in Marcg. The W Hotels are always reliable bets for business travel because it's an easy place to meet people on the property. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated with killer beds and showers, but no bathtub. The river view rooms were great, and the bar had a cosy fireplace and lounge, and the breakfast restaurant was pretty good. There were free coffee in the morning and papers. The staff here and concierge were a lot nicer than other W locations which tend to be a bit snobby. I would for sure return here. It's a good location and close to everything. The spa and gym were great. The valet staff were very polite and charming. I did not use the pool because it wasn't open yet. I wish they had free internet...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APKSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    255
    92
    36
    29
See reviews for
107
367
56
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the W last weekend while we were visiting Austin for a friends wedding. I was kind of nervous about staying here after the bad reviews on this site, but we ended up having a fantastic time.

We had an early flight in so we arrived in Austin around 9, the hotel staff was very friendly and checked us in to the hotel early. We even got an upgraded suite due to my status. I appreciated this since not all hotels will give upgrades to Platinum members.

Our room was very nice and clean and had a great view of the lake. We were told that the pool was closed due to the glass accident but they offered us several different options for pools at nearby hotels as well as arranging for transportation to and from the hotel.

The location was great, we were able to walk to 6th street very easily. I was concerned that the noise from the hotel would be a problem at night but we couldn't hear anything on our floor.

When we checked out we had to pick up a box of food we had them place in their freezers and they had already noted it down when I checked out and had it ready.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherita711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I'm glad we didn't pay full price for this!
They are charging $300/night for the most basic room which does not have the most basic necessity - a coffee maker, and they still want to charge you $8.00/ 30min. for wifi. Additionally, they do not have a roof-top pool as they are advertise. It has not been built yet, so instead you have to walk a couple of blocks to use a swimming pool in a condominium tower.
The one redeeming quality, is that the service seemed to be good, but I still would be adverse to paying 300 bucks just for service and some fancy wallpaper.
I have been to many boutique hotels, and it seems this one is just a money grab.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyitemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Located in the perfect area of downtown Austin..within walking distance of the best bars and eats of Austin..the living room is the bar located at the W...scenery and service was great..enjoy the pool area and ask about the cabana rental...well worth it as the pool tends to get packed in the afternoon...you must try the signature cucumber pepper drink...delicious..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dflores1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

I won't go into every detail about our experience at this hotel a few weeks back but I will say that "hospitality" is non existant and feels poorly managed. If taking a shower is important, don't stay here, the water pressure is little more than a drip. W was a great idea years ago but they have since then targeted the younger "wannabe" demographic. No manors, boozers, and sort of trashy. We left early and moved to the 4 Seasons. Don't make the mistake that we did. If visiting Austin and you want a resort like experience in the heart of Austin go with the 4 seasons, more traditional yes, but the service is excellent and grounds are super, right on the river/lake. W hotels in other cities are better than this one. It's just not a good one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SNAOGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I’d very much like the opportunity to speak to you about the specifics over your visit and how any issues you encountered can be avoided in the future, for you and future guests. I can be reached at 512.542.3630. I look forward to hearing from you, and thank you again for your time.

Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was looking forward to a relaxing weekend by the pool but was surprised to find out the pool wasn't yet open, despite the hotel being open for a while now. I will probably stay at the Four Seasons next time, unless their pool is open by then.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrileytaylor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We couldn't get one hotel for the four nights of our stay so changed from a charming but quirkier hotel to the W Austin for the last two nights. Great to have two very different experiences and we loved both.
The staff at the W was wonderful - very friendly and accomodating. Concierge gave us a great restaurant suggestion. The pool was a bit different - sort of a cross between a big lap pool and huge hot tub - but fun. Quite a scene on our wkend night - very "meet and greet" - fun to watch. Wait staff at the pool was wonderful. Room was immaculate - very dramatic, a la W style. My only issue was the fee for in - room internet - so done with that in the 21st century. Parking was expensive but we found street parking and a $6 lot - made it work pretty easily.We'd certainly come back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksw430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Property: W Austin
Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing