We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely trail along the Lake”

Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Lady Bird Lake Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic trail through lush green parks and peaceful lakes: a great place to bike, hike and run.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely trail along the Lake”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Austin really makes use of these lovely miles of hike and bike trails along the lake. Even in the height of the summer you will find loads of people running, walking their dogs and cycling here. Luckily much of the path is shaded, it is all well maintained and there are adequate restrooms and water fountains spotted throughout. We visit Austin a couple of times a years, usually in the spring and autumn, so have the added bonus of being here when it isn't unbearably hot!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank go4geisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,466
    441
    71
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mckinney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice walking, jogging, cycling trail.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I rode my bicycle along this trails on both sides of the shore and it was excellent. It is a very nice place, with lots of shade and nice views of the lake.

There are lots of people walking, jogging, walking the dogs, etc but it does not feel crowded and there are stretches of road where you can ride the bike fast if you like that.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful, shady, well kept trail for walking or biking”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We rented beach cruisers and pedaled around the lake. A great way to spend a few hours. You can hit a lot of places this way... Zilker park, Barton springs, etc. We rented bikes at the four seasons.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whitjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Trail right in downtown Austin”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I enjoy cycling when out of town and really enjoyed this trail along the lake downtown. They are currently doing alot of construction so there were a few areas where we had to take small detours We did have trouble finding a place to park as there was a special event in the nearby park. We ended up parking down at Austin High School. It worked out well as there is easy access to the trail from there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Trail”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gives pretty views of Austin. It can get very crowded, but it's a good place to walk your dog or jog.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cgrant2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing