We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great walk or run in downtown Austin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail

Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail
Book In Advance
$60.00*
and up
Lady Bird Lake Bike Tour
Ranked #2 of 298 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic trail through lush green parks and peaceful lakes: a great place to bike, hike and run.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
598 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“A great walk or run in downtown Austin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This crowded bike/hike path is used by everyone from Austin law makers and power brokers (you might even see Rick Perry) to students and soccer moms. Its scenic and winds it way along the shore of Town lake. There is also rentals of canoes and kayaks if you want to get away from the crowd and get onto the water.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,305
    394
    63
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very popular place to hike and bike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We hired bikes from Barton Springs Bike Rental, which has convenient nearby access to the trail, and set off for a loop around the lake. This was on a Thursday morning, and we were pleasantly surprised to see how many people were using the trail. Couples strolling, joggers, dog walkers, cyclists, moms with strollers, all out enjoying the sunshine and this great city resource. The loop around the lake goes a shade over 10 miles, if you go all the way to the dam at the end of the lake, and you get to see built up areas, open parkland, quiet city streets, busy freeways - the whole gamut of life in Austin. If we lived in the city rather than being here on vacation, we would be using this trail a lot

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great exercise and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This trail was adjacent to the Hyatt where I stayed. It was a great way to get some exercise in the fresh, beautiful Austin air.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AJBell1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Big crowd out enjoying the trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We rode our bikes the whole route when we were visiting Austin ...such an asset to the city. We liked the fact that there were maps along the route.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank perky149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Year round fitness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hike and bike trail, also known as Lady Bird Lake Trail (after Lady Bird Johnson, who began the beautification efforts in the early 1970s), is a scenic, easy and enjoyable running, jogging, and walking trail in the heart of Austin, Texas. There are 4 bridges crossing the lake, enabling you to take on as small or as large of a loop as you like. Parking is in various smaller lots scattered at the periphery, and the largest lot is on the north side of the lake near Austin High School. There aren't any restaurants or shops along the trail - it's scenic and understated. Water is provided by a local running supply store at points along the trail, but if you want to be sure to have water, bring your own. There is little to no lighting after dark, so complete your run/walk during the day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank architeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing