We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The parks in Austin help to rest without spending hours on the road.”

Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Lady Bird Lake Bike Tour
Ranked #3 of 317 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic trail through lush green parks and peaceful lakes: a great place to bike, hike and run.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The parks in Austin help to rest without spending hours on the road.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Being a Nashvillian, I am sort of spoiled by the fact that I can easily strap my bike to my car, drive in any direction for 45 minutes to an hour, and be surrounded by green hills. In Austin, that wasn't as easily achieved. Fortunately, my friend, being somewhat familiar with my love of cycling without the rigors of doing so in traffic, brought me to a slice of nature surrounded by concrete. Between this park and Zilker, I managed to "get away", without having to stress over getting out, during my trip.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,443
    436
    70
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Coulee, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to move between neighborhoods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

Nice trails with great view of the water, bridges, and downtown.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SallyCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
243 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Flat but a lot of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I have done the whole loop and then some and it is refreshing to have such a resource in the middle of a city. If you get tired just veer off and have a cup of your favorite brew.
It is beautiful lakeside exercise facility that accomodates everyone from just walking to running, biking, fishing, bird watching, you name it.
Great place to spend some time.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank calloused_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Del Lunga of Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

What the park along the Arno is to Firenze such is Lady Bird Park to Austin. The park runs along both sides of the river through most of the Colorado riverfront in Austin, and its trails link to numerous hike-and-bike trails that extend many miles north and south of the river.

Unfortunately, the trail has become congested much of the day now (especially with dog-walkers), especially on weekends, so it's more suitable for walking, jogging and casual bike riding than running and rigorous bicycling.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Running/Walking Trail in the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the countries best running and walking trail in an urban area. Over 11 miles in total length if you did the entire loop. Plenty of access points, a dog park, a beautiful lake/river and nice views of downtown.

The trail is not the best to bike on because it can get CROWDED at times and there are plenty of other places to bike in Austin. Go early to avoid crowds if it's a beautiful day.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Austinmike28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Lake Hike-and-Bike Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing