We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit classier than 6th” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Congress Avenue

South Congress Avenue
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Austin Street Art Segway Tour
Ranked #11 of 314 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Street lined with lots of great restaurants.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bit classier than 6th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

But still has the Austin craziness. Good cheap local beers, plenty of options for amazing live music. Great night out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    378
    102
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“full of hippies and weirdos... I felt right at home... your trip to Austin isn't complete if you don't stop here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent most of our time in this area. There is a store called Uncommon Objects which you just have to see to experience, lots of weird antiques and taxidermy rabbits. Left me a little unsettled but it would be a decorator's dream. Live music outdoors, had a great burrito and the food trucks are fun, plus there was a mini artists market which was lots of fun. I picked up some Mexican art with skulls :) Anyways I would say that my trip wouldn't have felt complete if we didn't stop by here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank missKaty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SoCo Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

So much fun, Monkey See - A little funky gift shop (where else could you get a tentacle mustache?) Big Top - Malt Shop/Candy store with lots of old favorites and an assortment of bacon flavored items Lots of cool little stores definitly keep Austin wierd.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grady C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was a great afternoon. One of the most relaxing afternoons I had while in Austin. This is a great neighborhood with an energy all it's own. Make sure to stop at Amy's for a scoop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Artmeanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Art Bazaar and Food Trucks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

No trip to Austin is complete until I've done my part to keep Austin weird by making some purchases from some uniquely Austin shops and artists. South Congress hosts a lovely bazaar each weekend at which you can purchase a number of handmade items such as jewelry, soap, clothing, souvenir tiles, etc. If you want a unique souvenir of Austin, this is the place to find it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Avenue also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing